We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed four nights here in the Toren Annex (a couple of doors up from the main hotel). The decor is fantastic and the staff are really helpful. Our room was immaculately presented and cleaned every day. We were in room 403 in the back of the annex so there was no noise at all (the hotel is in a quiet area anyway) and we had a small ourdoor area shared with the room next door.

Room comes with minibar, TV, alarm, phone, coffee machine, hairdryer, shower and large bath with jets and lighting.

We visited the hotel bar one night, its open until 1am and is in the main hotel.Service was alright, not a huge variety to choose from but plenty of room to relax after a hard days 'touristing'

The hotel is in a quiet area just round the corener from the Anne Frank museum and about a 10-15 minute walk to Dam Square / 20 minutes walk from Centraal station. There is a tram stop about 1 block away near a small supermarket which is quite handy as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeganABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,105
    361
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
253
1,558
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We checked into the Toren for three nights as our first Amsterdam experience and let me tell you...we were impressed! The hotel is in a classy, upscale, historic neighborhood! The front desk was knowledgable, the bar staff friendly, the other guests were warm and friendly, and the rooms were impeccably clean! We felt comfortable and welcome at the Toren and we would love to come back again some day!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Papillion709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely hotel. I had a small single room which was very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Magnificent breakfast provided free because the hotel was concerned about the relative size of my room. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location, quiet but convenient for everything. Would go back if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank joanb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here in the secondary building before a cruise. Decadent decor, quiet rooms, comfy bed, nice breakfast which they threw in for free on our reservation. Best of all was the staff. So helpful and friendly. My own one personal drawback is that my skin had a reaction to the bedding and I broke out while staying here. So be aware if you have sensitive skin. Otherwise this is a top notch place to stay in Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife intended to stay at The Toren as the capstone of a three week EU holiday. Unfortunately, she had a medical emergency a few days before we arrived at The Toren and was essentially incapacitated during the Amsterdam portion of our trip. I called ahead to let the staff know we would be housebound during our stay as she recuperated in preparation for our flight back to the US. The Toren's staff could not have done more to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Any hotel can provide a bed. It is rare to find a place where you feel as well cared for as we were. We look forward to coming back to experience all we missed... and to properly thank the fine folks at The Toren.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annex overlooking the canal. I recommend it. The impromptu events on the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in November 2013 for 5 nights of our European vacation and we can't say enough good things about it. We stayed in the Cottage Suite, it was very nice. The room was actually bigger than we envisioned since everyone that we knew who went to Amsterdam before us kept saying how the rooms were so small at the hotels. It had 1 flatscreen TV in front of the bed, a standup shower, a very cool jacuzzi and a nice sitting area with another flatscreen TV. Just outside our room door was a very large outdoor patio area that anyone staying at the hotel can use, we loved just sitting out there at night before going to bed and enjoying the peacefulness of the City. The hotel is within walking distance of pretty much everywhere that you will want to visit while in Amsterdam. The staff was amazing and extremely helpful. It was so good that we have booked 2 more trips back there in 2014. Thank you to the Toren for making our stay in Amsterdam the best vacation we have had to date.

Room Tip: We loved the Cottage Suite, we found it to be very private as its in an area where there are only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Chantel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

In spite of just one night stay, we felt very relaxed in a gorgeous room. We could walk from the Amsterdum Central station without any problem. Staff are very nice and friendly. Because we had to leave early in the morning, we missed the famous Dutch breakfast. I wish we could stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaonashi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing