We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

These people really understand service.
They cannot do enough for you , from concierge help to carrying bags to coffee at the bar - its one of our most pleasant stays.
They have an annexed group of rooms 6 doors down the street, which we stayed in, so I can't comment on the rooms at the main building.
Ours was clean, modern and everything worked including a capsule coffee machine, typically euro small though.
the hotel is well located for shopping, museums ,boat tours and sightseeing
The breakfast was an extra at 14E each, it was very pleasant and again great service

Room Tip: Look at it first for size
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryJ_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,611)
There are newer reviews for The Toren
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,611 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wow. What a wonderful experience. The rooms and lounge were beautifully designed and the hotel had a fantastic ambience. It was a very comfortable stay. The service was perfect. We had the breakfast as part of our package and it was very nice. The location was central. It is located near the Anne Frank house and cannel tours. Very happy with our stay at the Toren.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had an awesome 4 nights at the Toren. The staff very friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and sightseeing tips. Great strawberry mojito at the bar (You have to try it!). Will definately come back to the Toren someday.

Also located close to many sites of interest inc Anne Frank House, Joordan district, Nine streets of shopping and many more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BS19722013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A boutique hotel on a canal, the staff is friendly, the rooms spacious for Europe. The place is spotless, the breakfast has good choices. We were given an upgrade for the first night which was some room-so many new technologies it took a while to figure out how to turn off all the lights!. Bed was comfortable, bathrooms spacious. All in all an excellent place to stay as it is very centrally located, walking distance for most attractions. Our only little surprise was when we asked for a turndown when leaving before dinner we were answered with "what's that". When explained it was taken care of right away.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Garden are very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HENAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel was fantastic and in a great central location. The rooms are as they look in the hotel's photos. We stayed in Room 425, a double room in the annex building (20m down from main building)- had only one neighbouring room so it was v quiet. Bathroom looked brand new, excellent shower. The double rooms are v small and have double beds, not queens, so if you want more space choose the next room up. Double was fine for us. Best thing about this place is the staff - they will bend over backwards to help you with bookings, suggestions for places to eat/sightseeing etc. Can't overstate how much we enjoyed staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed four nights here in the Toren Annex (a couple of doors up from the main hotel). The decor is fantastic and the staff are really helpful. Our room was immaculately presented and cleaned every day. We were in room 403 in the back of the annex so there was no noise at all (the hotel is in a quiet area anyway) and we had a small ourdoor area shared with the room next door.

Room comes with minibar, TV, alarm, phone, coffee machine, hairdryer, shower and large bath with jets and lighting.

We visited the hotel bar one night, its open until 1am and is in the main hotel.Service was alright, not a huge variety to choose from but plenty of room to relax after a hard days 'touristing'

The hotel is in a quiet area just round the corener from the Anne Frank museum and about a 10-15 minute walk to Dam Square / 20 minutes walk from Centraal station. There is a tram stop about 1 block away near a small supermarket which is quite handy as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeganABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We checked into the Toren for three nights as our first Amsterdam experience and let me tell you...we were impressed! The hotel is in a classy, upscale, historic neighborhood! The front desk was knowledgable, the bar staff friendly, the other guests were warm and friendly, and the rooms were impeccably clean! We felt comfortable and welcome at the Toren and we would love to come back again some day!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Papillion709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,326 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £175 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing