We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great European boutique in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great European boutique in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Service A+. Room very small but very clean and good shower. We are discerning travelers and opted for a small boutique hotel for our visit to Amsterdam. We were not disappointed. Very good location, service was second to none. Breakfast included. 10 min walk to train station, 30 to major museums, 10-20 mins to almost anywhere else you'd want to go. We'd stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,067
    351
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
246
1,530
165
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Toren. We had high expectations, which were more than met. We have sought out small, charming hotels in our travels and have had the good fortune to find several hotels in the world’s most enjoyable cities. We look for romantic atmosphere and decor, excellence in service, and convenience of the location to sites of interest and public transportation. We are pleased to add The Toren to our personal list of favorite hotels.

The Toren staff is remarkably service oriented and will take the initiative to cater to your desires.

Room Tip: We suggest the canal view rooms for true Amsterdam atmosphere with luxury appointments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWCreswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
279 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

As many others have written, this is a perfect hotel to visit Amsterdam. The service was first rate- everyone on staff constantly checks in to see if there is anything they can do for you. The front desk was very helpful making (and then changing) dinner reservations, giving suggestions for activities, etc. The location is great. The rooms are a bit tight (we had a deluxe canal view room with a jacuzzi) but they are very nicely decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast and bar were great and the garden out back was great to relax in at the end of the day. The only issue was the room lights were impossible to figure out, but that did not interfere with our enjoyment of the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is not cheap but is of a high standard and well located for the canals of Amsterdam. We stayed in the main house and had a room at the rear of the premises which had a spa bath. Staff we're very helpful. Will stay here again if we could get a better deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

After a painful Viking River cruise, The Toren was a pleasure, a haven, a remainder that even when traveling, compromise is not necessary. The Toren has a energetic and welcoming staff. The ladies at the front desk are especially delightful and very accommodating. The bar, lobby, and dining areas are very tasteful and sumptuous.

Room Tip: book directly with the hotel for best prices and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfm304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms small but very ambient and cosy. Funny with the big spa in the room. We stayed for 4 nights and needed more space and place to put our things.
Lovely breakfast and the staff very nice.
A bit far from the center, but ok.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I use Tripadvisor all the time, and I needed a hotel in Amsterdam for two nights. The Toren came to the top of the list and I didn’t look elsewhere. I booked the hotel on the internet and the staff was kind enough to verify my reservation and suggest a more suitable room weeks in advance of our trip. The Toren has a friendly helpful staff, nice rooms, good breakfast, nice little bar and garden. What more could you want. The only negative was that the room was a little warm and I just could not seem to get it cooled off with the controls on the wall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colo_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing