We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home in Amsterdam”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Your home away from home in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A hidden jewel in Amsterdam! Just came back from our short two-night stay at The Toren (July 2014). This quiet, but well-located boutique hotel has five stars written everywhere! Check-in and check-out was very well-handled. Their charming staff made us feel at home from the very start: warm and highly professional. They took their time to help us with our questions, and gave us excellent recommendations. Special mention to Sebastian, their head bartender. He was very entertaining, and made us feel like we had known him for a long time. Not to mention his signature mojito, which was out of this world! Our room was located in the annex, a few steps from the main building. It was impressive! Beautifully decorated, huge by European standards, great bed, a computer for web browsing, free wi-fi, and a beautiful view of the canal. Chocolates and strawberries welcomed us to our room; a nice touch as well. Management team moves swiftly to take care of your needs. My wife had tears in her eyes when we left the hotel. What else can I tell you? Stay at The Toren when you go to Amsterdam...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view...Beautiful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdrmrsed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    366
    35
    14
    3
See reviews for
271
1,594
171
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great Location, Trendy Hotel Good Amenities & super friendly staff. This makes for all the ingredients of a much liked and again visited hotel.

The location of the hotel is cozy enough to be facing a quite part of town, yet close enough to Dam Square and practically next to Ann Frank house with super stylish jordaan as one of it's immediate neighbourhoods.

The hotel has 2 sections and the annexe of the hotel is just 3 -4 doors down on the same street. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and gave some super tips for restaurants and cafes to visit.

Though the hotel is on the expensive side and from a value for money perspective, isn't in the Top 5 choices in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Fabulous location in Amsterdam near Anne Frank House, nestled in between the quaint old Jordaan neighborhood, the main canal-crossing shopping streets and the famous town square. The service was unbelievable -- absolutely the most helpful and friendly I've ever experienced. Oh, and the rooms are beautiful too! Not cheap, but "affordable luxury". Only complaint was the sporadic WiFi, but this has plagued us during our entire 3 weeks in France, Netherlands, Germany and Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abattenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

During our visit to Amsterdam in mid-July, 2014, we stayed at the Toren, which is a hotel that we have stayed a number of times during the past 25 years. We have always enjoyed our time there and have found the management to be very helpful during our stays. During this stay, our room was in the hotel annex, a few doors down from the main building.

The owners have made a number of modern upgrades to the hotel over the years although I have to admit I did like the charm of the old Toren. The hotel is in an excellent location, just around the corner from the Anne Frank House, and is easily reached from the train station via tram. The facility faces a canal and the setting is very nice and quiet in the evenings. There are a number of very good restaurants and cafes just a few minutes walk away. On this visit, our room had a large Jacuzzi tub separated from the sleeping area by a curtain. To be honest, it reminded me a little of Las Vegas. There was also a shower that opened into the Jacuzzi tub area but not a lot of privacy except for the curtain which had to be drawn back and forth. The state-of-the art coffee maker in the room was a nice feature, but there was not much room for suitcases and personal belongings and we were traveling light with carry-on bags only. The overall service was very good and the room was very clean. We would stay there again but we would probably request a different room layout.

Room Tip: If you do not necessarily want a Jacuzzi in the middle of the room, make sure you let the management...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Hotel Location: Perfect on a beautiful canal. You can walk to any zone. About 8 minutes from Plaza Damm and next to the Anne Frank House. Nearby there are many bars, restaurants and shops.

Room: Not very big, something ornate, luxurious, with a relaxing hot tub in the middle of the room. Garden terrace later. Comfortable bed, good quality and varied amenities. Nespresso coffee free. Towels and great linens. Cleaning and proper soundproofing.

Hotel Bar: Perfect way to end the day with a drink in their seats and surprisingly relaxing and inviting decor. Here with good breakfast pastries, some hot food, cold meats, coffee and correct bad juices is served. For breakfast we usually do the Spaniards, more than enough.

Hotel Staff: Friendly, friendly and willing to answer questions at all times...!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwards t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Thanks to all the reviews, we stayed here for three nights. I loved the location in the Jordaan area. The hotel is on a canal and we were able to walk everywhere. We were in the annex with views in the back of the hotel. It was wonderful. We enjoyed the neighborhood feel. It is only blocks from the Anne Frank House and canal tours. It was a 20 min walk to the major museums. The streets in this area seem safe. I would stay here again, and I like luxury.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zoecatCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent!
We reserved the biggest room. It was located a few houses further away than the actual hotel and suited several other rooms. Ours was located on the back of the building, had big windows, a massive bed with a lot of pillows, coffee and tea making facilities, a big bathroom downstairs with a bubble bath, plenty of towels,.. heavenly!
Nice restaurants closeby.
1 remark, there is practically no parking, but thats the problem in whole Amsterdam. Parking rates are dull.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Renske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,703 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing