We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend get away”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend get away”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I finished our 25th wedding anniversary trip with a weekend in Amsterdam. We stayed in the garden suite at The Torren and it was fantastic. The room was luxurious, great customer service and the location perfect. We were able to walk everywhere and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANJSFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,107
    361
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
253
1,561
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Fl., USA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived at 9:30 am from our river cruising. Our reservations, canal view room, were not available until 1pm so they gave us a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite. What a room! Incredible setup. The room consisted of three different areas: the entrance or living area, separated by a door from the bedroom, separated from the bathroom with a sliding curtain. In the ceiling window shades to black the skylights. An unusual lighting system with a switch at the entrance with different selections for ambience, from daylight to romantic. The on off controlled from a bed switch that took some time to learn. Only one way action will turn lights off and when pressed again on. The AC was remotely controlled. In the bathroom I could not find the sink faucets, but finally found them under and part of a shelf on top of sink. The shower had two separate ceiling mounted shower heads for 2 people to take their bath. It also had an electronically controlled steam bath. And the toilet was incredible. It will clean, wash, dry and massage you. It really did. All this technology took time to learn and we were there for only 2 days. So we had to ask for help and Sebastian will show up in less than 3 minutes. Awesome service.
The hotel also had a small restaurant, decorated in a nice, elegant subdued manner with lots of dark wood, where they served you breakfast and a light lunch. The hotel also recommended nearby restaurants that the owner had visited. If he did not know about it he would not recommend it. Also, on the last day they gave us complimentary breakfast.
The overall technological systems were difficult to operate at first, until you became familiar with them This was the only drawback. But the impeccable and fast service made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josebsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here from Aug 7th to 10th.It is our second time to stay and this time we opted for a garden view room rather than the canal view. It was newly renovated and absolutely wonderful. The staff as always were fabulous, so friendly. My favorite thing about the Toren is the location, everywhere in the city is easily accessible by foot. I would not think about staying anywhere else and highly recommend...

Room Tip: Garden View - so peaceful after a hectic day sighseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celticcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Beautiful hotel - the hotel is built out of two, adjoining, typical row houses. But there's nothing typical once you enter. The decor is luscious. The rooms are unique. The bar and breakfast area are lush *and* comfortable.

Very friendly staff - our friends at the reservation desk went over the top with their recommendations for us and helping book tickets to the Rijksmuseum. The doormen and bar/ breakfast staff were friendly, engaging, and helpful. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.The services across the board is top-notch.

They're located about a 10min walk from Centraal Station and in a quiet neighborhood - but close to sights, restaurants, and nightlife.

I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Toren the last week in July. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and genuinely helpful. Champagne & chocolates was in the room on arrival (wknd was for celebration). Breakfast wasn't included but when checking out it was given complimentary!! Food was delicious and the room was so quiet and comfortable. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Everything from the happy staff to the best pillows ever!! Will definitely stay here again next visit and will be sure to recommend to friends!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovesholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We chose The Toren based on the ratings and reviews on TripAdvisor, and I want to echo all the positive comments already here for the hotel. The staff uphold the hotel’s commitment to provide its guests fantastic customer service. Although our room was not ready when we arrived, our bags were waiting for us in our room when we returned later in the day to check in. Stemmed glasses of chocolates and fresh strawberries were in our room, as well as a wonderful collection of bathroom products from Rituals. The front desk is more than happy to recommend a number of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, including their favorite places for lunch or coffee (and apple pie). We have only stayed once at The Toren, however it will be the only hotel we choose to stay when traveling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original building but I cannot imagine any room in the hotel not being good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Perfect location to walk or bike everywhere in the city. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The setup in and around the rooms was very unique. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is that the front desk consistently pushed vendors (tours, taxi, restaurants) where they would get kick backs and not the best place for us. When paying this much for a room, i expect unbiased recommendations from the front desk. Highly recommend staying here but being weary of the advice from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mj23439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_TheTorenFamily, Owner at The Toren, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We have received this review and to be honest we were shocked to read about the service part stating that vendors were pushed. In all those years we have never heard about a similar issue.
As the owners of the hotel we would like to stipulate that we will research this matter right away. We have initiated procedures for our staff to make sure that guests have pre-bookings for restaurants and museums to prevent waiting times and any disappointment but also to help with planning all of our guests wishes. Our staff is also instructed to book taxi’s from a registered company who you can trust since it happens often that illegal taxi drivers over charge guests and are not even registered as official taxi drivers, but this is purely to offer you safety and good as well as heartfelt services. We have developed our own restaurant recommendation list so that our guests are sure of a great experience and we have tested these restaurants ourselves (which we always do on an anonymous basis). We only care for the actual experience (straight forward how it is), we want to know how venues treat our guests. In all situations (restaurants, museums and taxi’s) we do not receive any commission, this accounts for our staff but also for the hotel. Since the beginning we have never worked on any commissionable basis. We purely made arrangements with venues to be able to deliver excellent services for all sorts of activities. We will immediately contact the guest so that we know how this feeling is established. Perhaps a newly hired staff member has been too enthusiastic with planning your stay. We hired more staff to even provide a higher level of service to our guests always based on our approach ‘genuine, pure and heartfelt services’. We will discuss this also with the team as we truly do not receive any commissions for the services from our venues and this is for us a very serious matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing