We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, great location, highly recommended!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Romantic, great location, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Such a gem! Charming and romantic! We stayed 3 happy nights here.
Interior is beautifull, 17th century house with ornamets but not too antiq decoration, gold, black and red colours. Fantastic breakfast: juices, fresh berries, fruits, pancakes, eggs, croissant, breads, muffins, cheeses, hams etc.
Great location: relaxed, quiet, front of the canal, about 1.5 km walk from railwaystation and just next to trendy Joordan area and "De 9 Straatjes", 9 street area with great small shops and restaurants. Anne Franks House is only few hundred metres away and if you want to go to canal cruise, you can get it on Boat House, which is on the next corner (150 metres).
Very helpfull and friendly staff. A small double room is small, but there`s enough space and room is lovely and bath is great. Also rooms have Nespresso coffee machine and bathrobes, minibar and lcd-telly. Great big and cozy bed. Sleep quality was excellent! We were looking for a romantic and lovely hotel and Toren really was a top choice.
Highly recommended and will gladly return!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,117
    361
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
256
1,567
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2010

That was an amazing and wonderful stay in Amsterdam - great location, superb servise, excelent staff and so on... Nothing to complain except the building at 17th centure could be built in a way that we would have a little bit larger rooms:)...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge10613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

My friend and I were truly lucky when we came upon The Toren in our on-line search for a hotel in Amsterdam. We wanted a great location, breakfast included, a canal-front room, a welcoming lobby, twin beds, and a little more walking space than the typical small European hotel room. We got all that at a reasonable cost (we stayed a full week, warranting a "special" price, and we split costs) PLUS the great pleasure of the Toren's superb hospitality.The entire staff, from the front desk to the bar/breakfast lounge, to the maids, were all amazingly friendly and helpful, and made us feel entirely welcome and at home. To examplify how completely thoughtful they are to the needs of hotel guests....in the front hall of the main building as well as the nearby second building where we stayed, sits an umbrella stand with several large, strong umbrellas, available to any guest who needs one. In the month of November, when the winds and rain kick up, it's a great convenience. We came with pocket-sized versions that didn't hold up; we were so appreciative to be able to borrow The Toren's umbrellas. How trusting and thoughtful! I must add that the hotel is beautiful - ornate, but lovely - and the breakfast buffet is outstanding; delicious, fresh food, eggs or pancakes to order if you wish, and heavenly coffee. It was tough coming home and having to prepare my own morning food.
I would return to The Toren in a heartbeat and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to feel like they're going home each night after a busy day in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rik0057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Just wanted to Thank all the staff who were fantastic and helped us with everything, even got us on the guestlist for Bungalow 8 and Jimmy Woo's.

The Hotel was amazing and we loved every second.

The Bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

Thank you to all at The Toren we hope to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asmith86186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Charmed and relaxed is the overall feeling you are left with after a stay at The Toren. From the welcome we received until the time we left, the staff, decor and general ambiance of this hotel is superb. After staying many times at the five star Hotel Pulitzer, we felt that this hotel had become more suited to corporate clients and a little impersonal. We were looking for a hotel with a bit more of a European feel, we found the perfect place in The Toren. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryandGayeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We booked the Toren for a 3 night stay in November after reading the great reviews on trip advisor.
I booked direct with the hotel and from the very start had perfect service from them (via email).
We booked the garden cottage and was not disappointed. It was worth paying that little bit extra for for a special weekend. We also booked the champagne on arrival package for 60 euros which was well worth it. We had a bottle of Moet, chocolates and strawberries in our room for arrival and also breakfast in our room on the 1st morning.

The hotel advised to use the TCM taxis from the station to the hotel which would cost 7,50, however we took the first taxi (which wasnt a TCM) and he charged us 15 eurors (our own fault). So just be aware and make sure you see the TCM sign on the taxis. The hotel will always use them when booking taxis for you. On arrival the staff were very welcoming and we had a cocktail in the bar while we waited to be shown to our room. Marney (I hope thats how it's spelt) was really nice and a great cocktail maker. When we went to pay they said we didn't have to, a welcome drink :-)
We were shown to our room which it outside the hotel because its in the garden - in a lovely large garden area thats also home for the staff. The room was amazing, very romantic/gothic kind of feel, lots of cosy velvet curtains.
The biggest and most comfiest bed, seperate area with desk and table.
The internet is not free however there are a few options and I went for the wired option which was 8 euros for 24 hours which wasn't too bad.
The double jacuzzi bath in the room is just bliss, plenty room for 2. There is a great shower too with a steam setting however we never did work this one out.
Lots of lovely towels and toiletries in room.
There is a lovely garden area outside the room but the weather wasnt the best when we were there but I cam imagine in the summer it would be lovely to sit out.

There is a mini bar in the room but the only alcoholic drinks in it are beer, the rest are soft drinks and snacks but not too expensive.

We had a few drinks in the hotel bar, amazing cocktails and not too expenisve. 13 euors for a vodka & orange and a jack daniels & coke.
The bar is open until 1am but they staff say they will serve you normal drinks (i.e. not cocktails) any time of the night. They also serve bar snacks, like olives, soup, panninis etc.
The location is perfect, we walked everywhere, close to all parts of Amsterdam you'd want to visit.

All in all we loved this hotel and would for sure go back. I don't have anything negative to say about it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelsrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

The best, cosiest, most romantic and coolest place to stay in Amsterdam!
The rooms has been upgraded since our last stay, 8 years ago. Now 'our' room had a jacuzzi and a door directly out in the garden.
The breakfast is superb, fresh made and very tasty.
And the staff is friendly and serviceminded, they will help you to make reservations at restaurants and answer any questions you have.
My advice: just try it!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
614 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,372 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,063 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing