We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #85 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel is under renovations. We were woken in the morning at 7:30 to scrapping & sanding.There is scaffolding and material covering the entire front of the building and blocking the windows. The rooms are very tiny. I felt extremely claustrophobic in the tiny room with no window access. Bathroom is a joke. So small with a leaky sink. My husband had pre-paid for 2 nights and we could not get a refund. Worst 2 nights ever!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dfromnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janluyken, General Manager at Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2011

Dear sir,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. I'm very sorry to hear your stay with us was not as expected. Indeed we are currently painting the exterior of our building. The front of the hotel is almost finished and we are now moving to the backside of the hotel. Everything should be finished half of April. The noise you experienced during your stay, was not the noise our painters made, as only two people are painting and are not using any machinery. Unfortunately we cannot avoid all inconvenience for our guests, however we try to communicate with them as much as possible. I'd like to get in touch with you how to solve this matter.
Kind regards,
BILDERBERG HOTEL JAN LUYKEN
Claudia van der Graaf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
There are newer reviews for Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

Lovely hotel in a very nice(posher) part of the city. close to the museums and couple minutes walk from the hard rock cafe and vondelpark,also just a few minutes further walk to the main square - the whole city is easy to walk around! lovely small bar area with an outside area. when we we arrived were told our room had been upgraded to a bigger one -it was a good job as this was a very small room but that really is the only "moan" we had with the hotel. we defo want to go back to Amsterdam and would go back to this hotel without hesitation! Also - brilliant transportation from the airport straight to this hotelis avaialble: http://www.schipholhotelshuttle.nl/site/toonhotel.asp?HotelID=288

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs280684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The hotel is in the posh area of the haute couture stores. It is 5min walking to Leisdquare (nice to go out, dinner, etc) and also from the Museumplein (Rijkmuseum, Van Gog).

The only negative aspect is that the heating was not functioning in our room. We had told reception before we left for dinner so they could fix the heating and they said they would check. When we came back the room was still freezing. It was on the top floor (room508) and we slept with a temperature of about 17degrees. There weren't any extra blankets either. We slept good but VERY COLD! (also not nice when you come out of the shower)

Staff was very friendly, although they didn't do anything about the heating problem in the room...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana09brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed in this lovely hotel that my boyfriend found. We stayed with friends. Great location in city centre and a really charming hotel. We had a corner room (201) which was spacious and had a great view of the street, with a balcony! Bathroom was clean and large. Staff was friendly although we didn't actually need their help as we know our way around. Breakfast was nice with fresh fruit and lots to choose from.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel very comfortable and convenient. It's located in the Museum District only a couple of minutes walk from some of the main museums. If you want to travel to other areas, it's also very close to the tram line. This is very convenient especially if you have the Iamsterdam card with free public transport. The room had everything we needed. A hot breakfast was included in the price. It was down to -7C when we were there with snow and the hotel was nice and warm allowing us to thaw out after very cold days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnn198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I was going to stay with a friend in Amsterdam but due to an emergency that was not possible so I booked a last minute room here.

I really have no complaints besides the room size, my room had no space for my luggage at all. I do not expect big rooms since it's Europe but this one was SO small I could not even walk to get to the bed, it was as if I was in one of those Japanese hotels that only fits the bed :)

Besides that, the hotel was great, an amazing location next to all the museums and close to everything else, walking distance to every tourist spot you want to hit. The staff was amazing, they helped me with everything and every question I had. Some of them were so friendly we were chatting for a long time! I did not experience any problems at all. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbierock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The Hotel was all we expected and more. Our room was not oversized but we did not expect it to be, but was clean, warm and comfortable. All the staff where helpful and friendly and the small but stylish bar is a great place to relax after a day’s touring around Amsterdam (good coffee and apple cake). The hotel is in an ideal spot for getting around Amsterdam with good restaurants within a few minutes’ walk and close to the canal and museums. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,074 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,347 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#102 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,114 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 371 in Amsterdam
870 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £124 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing