We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #71 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in August for a short stay in Amsterdam, and the location was perfect. far enough away from the busy leidesplein but close enough to get involved when you wanted to, also a short walk from the Heineken square. We would definately recommend this area to walk to for dinner (Barca Tapas was our favourite).

One warning however, if you are booking this or any oher hotel via third party companies, double check your booking witht he hotel before you leave. When we arrived, our booking was not on the system! that said the receptionist could not have been more helpful, and provided us with complimentary drinks until the matter was organisd, plus we received a free upgrade for the "trouble".

The rooms themselves are modern, very clean and exactly what you need for a stay in Amsterdam. The bar and breakfast areas are welcoming and fresh.

I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to friemds or family in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street - just above the canopy. if you are at the back you may get d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

I was recently in Amsterdam for a work conference, which was being held at the Rai convention center. The Rai is a bit out of the city centre and took me about 40 mins to walk there on the first day. However, once i got a tram pass there was no stopping me. The trams in Amsterdam are very easy to use and this hotel is perfectly located to catch a tram out to the Rai, as well as getting trams to central station, or just into the CBD. You can also catch the airport bus from the tram stop near the Rijksmuseum for 4Euro. The Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken is strategically located near museumplein, which means you have quick access to the Rijksmuseum (which is a must see), the Van Gough Museum and the Stedelijk Museum. All less than 5 mins away. The start of the city is just a 5-10min walk away, but you can also get yourself to any part of the city by tram as well. Vondelpark is nearby, and has 3.5km of track for walking or riding a bike. There are also canal boat cruises nearby which are very informative. For my needs this place was perfectly positioned. The hotel service was great and they even grabbed me extra coathangers for my wardrobe. The room however is rather small, but i believe that all accommodation in Amsterdam is small. The bathroom was extremely compact. The hotel was extremely clean and i couldn't fault it. This hotel is in a nice area of the city with a lot of designer shops nearby as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This boutique hotel dates back to the 19th Century. Looking at its handsome brick facade which displays a uniform character it is hard to imagine that is really an amalgamation of three adjacent buildings into one.
The hotel's biggest advantage is its location. You can walk from here to the Rijksmuseum or the Van Gogh museum in about 5 minutes.(Yes, happily, the Van Goghs are back in their home, which was under renovation for a while). The Hotel sells tickets to both the museums (15 euro each), so you avoid the long lines at the museums.
The hotel also arranges for bicycles for hire, and you can rent them for a minimum of 3 hours (at 8 euros), and a maximum of 24hours.(I forgot how much the 24 hour hire charges were- we only rented cycles for 3 hours). Using the hotel's voucher, you can book a canal cruise at 10% discount. Taxis are also arranged by the hotel, as are cars on rent.Umbrellas are also available at the reception.Although you can take a bus to and from Schiphol airport at 14 euros per head, and that involves walking about a block away, I'd recommend a taxi, which the hotel arranges for about 40 euros, one way.
The rooms are fair sized, by European standards and the toilets are adequate. The large windows let in light, and the air conditioning works very efficiently. The hot water kettle with the tea and coffee service is a welcome and thoughtful addition. The room also has a electronic locker,and a well stocked mini bar.
There is a small garden at the back, and a bar "Wines and Bites" serves drinks and small snacks. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but you can always pick up an apple from the jar at the reception.Next to the reception is a lounge, with magazines and comfortable chairs and sofas. English language papers are available in the Lobby. The hotel also has a Spa to provide usual treatments and sunbeds are available on reservation.There is internet available at the reception, and wire-free service in your room, for a charge.
Breakfast is at 13 euros per head, and unless you wish to eat a muffin or a waffle at the hot dog stand between the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, there is no breakfast place in the immediate neighbourhood. So if you haven't got breakfast included in the price of your room, you may be better off if you can pack something and carry it to your room for the next day's breakfast. Fortunately, the Centrum, the canals, and Leidesplein ( a pleasant open happening square, best for people-watching from an out door cafe table), are all within 10 to 15 minutes of a walk.
The best part bout the hotel is its smiling staff. The reception is most helpful and the staff go out of their way to answer questions, give out maps and directions, and otherwise provide any service you may want.
The Hotel is a member of World Hotels. So if you book it through the 'worldhotels' website, your spending at the hotel is converted into frequent flier miles on certain specified airlines.
We have been to Amsterdam several times, this is by far the best hotel we stayed in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was travelling by myself for three nights and the single room was really good value. Typical small size for Europe, but clean & tidy with all the features you need. I felt really safe away from the tourist bustle and it was quiet for me to sleep. Staff were really helpful and friendly, and the bar area is a nice spot to unwind in their little garden after a busy day.
The Hotel is close to the two main museums (Van Gogh 15 euro and Rijksmuseum 15 euro) and walking is easy to do in Amsterdam. The hotel lets you rent bikes outside the front door. The canals are about a block away and you are close to where the trams stop and the canal cruises.
Nice breakfast spot around the corner - on the main shopping road with Jimmy Choo, Bally, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This small hotel is situated within a few minutes of a tram station, the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum (a few minutes further and you are in the old town with it's canals and gabled houses). The reception is well staffed by friendly people who speak excellent English. We arrived several hours before our check in time but we were offered secure storage for our luggage and could just dump our bags and go sightseeing. We were given a free city map on which the receptionist marked our hotel and pointed out the location of the trams, museums etc. The room we had was clean, quiet and very well appointed. We also had air con which was very welcome during what out taxi driver called a "heat storm". We stayed for 2 nights. Breakfast was fine on our first morning but was decidedly "iffy" on our second. This was certainly down to staffing. On the first morning the male staff member kept the buffet stocked and the tables cleared. On the second morning things were constantly running out and tables left cluttered. We self cleared half of our table and when we finished our breakfast the dirty cups and plates were still untouched - the female staff member must have seen the clutter because she came to our table with coffee and when I asked for milk she indicated the small jug in amongst the clutter. This small 'glitch' aside, Amsterdam was lovely and so was our stay at the Jan Luyken. We will doubtless return to both in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovecorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I spent a post-cruise stay in Amsterdam at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is beautiful, inside and out, and the staff was great. And of course there is the hotel's superb location in Amsterdam's Museum District, on a quiet, tree-lined street, just steps from the Museumplein, the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, canal cruises and much more.

As for the staff, they were helpful and friendly from our arrival to our departure. Though we arrived much earlier than the hotel's check-in time, the staff found us an immediately available room with the same amenities as the room we had booked (a spacious superior room that included free WiFi). And they helped us arrange transportation to the airport on our early-morning departure. In between, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully appointed hotel, including a delightful light supper in the outdoor garden portion of the hotel's bar-restaurant. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njcavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I recently spent one night at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken and enjoyed my stayed. After a long international flight my family was quickly greeted by their morning staff. We were offered breakfast along with some tips on how to make the most of our 1 day layover. The hotel provided a safe place for our luggage, since we couldn't check in until the afternoon. The hotel is easy to get to using the bus from the airport. A cab is also quick too.
The rooms at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken are not huge, but very clean. The bathroom was very nice too. The location of this hotel makes it an ideal stop over. It is just down the street from the Rijksmuseum in a quiet neighborhood. If I were to go back to Amsterdam, this would be my first choice for an overnight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,136 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,410 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#103 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 375 in Amsterdam
911 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#92 of 375 in Amsterdam
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £96 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing