We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #80 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
leicestershire
Level Contributor
407 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is comfortable and very handy for museums, top shops, the tram into the city and canal cruises. Service is friendly and efficient. It's made out of two older buildings so the rooms have varying character and the corridors weave with plenty of steps to negotiate. The location looks quiet, but it can be noisy at night if you like your window open.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    427
    135
    39
    22
See reviews for
128
476
89
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughter and I arrived at the Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken at around 6:00 am after a flight from Boston. We were tired and hungry. The Hotel anticipating our arrival and although our room was not ready, they were very gracious. The Hotel is a lovely old building as I have come to expect in Europe. The "lobby" is tiny, the small lounge is attached and looks very inviting. The Hotel is centrally located near high end shopping and with easy access to the train station and the Van Gogh Museum. Although it was the middle of the city it was very quiet and the rooms were small but clean, updated and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Close to both the Rijksmusuem and Van Gogh museums next to the most prestigious shopping street in Amsterdam.The hotel had efficient and friendly staff and the breakfast was of good quality.The use of trams and the Hop-on Hop -off buses added to the enjoyment of the holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms on second and third floors would be preferred facing away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Bilderberg is in a fantastic location: close walking distance to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums, Vondelpark, Heineken Experience and not too far away is the city center. The breakfast buffet served is very filling with a good variety of hot and cold choices, juices and excellent fresh bread. There is an elevator but you may need to carry your luggage up a few stairs, depending on the location of your room. And you may want to pack ear plugs (always a good idea) in case your room is on the street side or ask for a room on the interior or facing the back garden/courtyard. The bar is very good with light fare on order and the staff is very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. Will definitely stay at the Bilderberg again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieW542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel was chosen for its location near the Riksmuseum and the fact that I had stayed a couple of times before a few years ago. I paid more for a superior room but the room was disappointing. It was located on the ground floor and suffered from all the street noise. People returned to parked vehicles or walked past shouting after clubbing hrs so better double glazing would have helped. The room was drab, badly decorated in places with badly fitted wiring covered by cheap plastic ducting (noticeable exception, the bathroom was lovely) and also over the breakfast room so suffered more noise when the staff arrived.
I complained at check out about the noisy room and was informed that they were fully booked. As i booked this over 6 months ago as a Birthday treat I expected better.
The bar is also expensive and the overall feel is cold and characterless.
The breakfast was varied but many items had run out and we had a long wait for tea and coffee.
I have stayed in many beaurtiful hotels for far less.

Room Tip: avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waw37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice boutique hotel, compact but has everything you need.
Staff are very friendly and the area is great to walk around and people watch. The hustle and bustle of the city centre is not too bad a walk - we walked rather than taking the tram most days.
Definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Sweet little hotel with friendly staff in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
292 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed four nights in a great corner room on the second floor. It was modern and spacious in a historic building. Very comfortable bed, plenty of towels and hot water. Best of all, the location was perfect for exploring the museum and canal districts. It was a comfortable walk to everything we wanted to see and do.
We did not eat in the breakfast room because the buffet was 20 euros per person, more than we wanted to spend. However, there is a great bakery two blocks away where you can buy excellent coffee, sandwiches. breads and pastries.
Although it is located on a quiet street, two nights we heard loud revelers, so I recommend earplugs. Otherwise, a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Room 201 is large and full of light. Very comfortable with two chairs, good desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#28 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,012 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 368 in Amsterdam
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 368 in Amsterdam
842 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Property: Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing