We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful smallish hotel, great location. We loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #78 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We moved to the Bilderberg Hotel after being disappointed in our first hotel. It was very , very nice -- incredibly friendly and competent staff, pretty interior, delicious but pricey breakfast. Our room was on the tight side because they squeezed in an extra twin bed for us, but it was manegable. We were gone from morning till early evening, but we always enjoyed coming "home." The street it's on is charming and quiet and the location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAHBoulderCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed here for one night and found the hotel excellent. Contrary to previous reviews the room was large - we paid for a standard room but maybe this was a superior room. Had the best nights sleep ever in the comfy bed with blackout curtains and no noise from inside or outside the hotel.

The staff were great and allowed us to check in 4 hours early. Check in and out was very quick and efficient.

The location is perfect - on a quiet side street off the Museumplien (Rijksmusem and Van Gogh Museum). Its a bit far from Central Station if thats where you come into Amsterdam but get the 2 or 5 tram, runs every few minutes and drops off outside Rijksmuseum.

We didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel so can't comment on the food.

I would stay here again without a doubt

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouncyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The awning outside this hotel has a star painted out. After having experienced its "charms" I felt like painting the rest out. Firstly it is expensive and trades on its location. However the facilities are very poor. In the bathroom we had, everything leaked. The bathroom was also smelly. The room itself was tiny. The decor despite appearances on the internet was shabby. Lights didnt work. The bed was made when we arrived but was not the cleanest - I suspect the sheets had not been changed. We came back to the hotel (to sleep) and needed another pillow - (there were no spares in the room) - this took an hour. The blackout curtains would not close! The staff with one exceptional exception were unfriendly if not a bit rude. A bottle of water from the mini bar was €5 - even by mini bar standards this was exceptional! By way of balance it has to be said that the hotel is very well located for the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum - but frankly the standards were totally unacceptable. While this hotel did not succeed in ruining a wonderful stay in a great city, it certainly took away from our enjoyment of it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paddy022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

The hotel is ideally situated, very close to museums and close to the Leidesplein, where you can find a lots of restaurants and clubs. 5 min walk and you can take the canal cruise, so an excellent location for exploring this city.

It is small and lovely boutique hotel, which overlooks a very posh shopping street.
The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and have everything one needs for a short trip.
The hotel service and the breakfast was very good and I have no complaints whatsover. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

W e loved this smart, modern small hotel, situated in the museum and fashion district close to the canal boats and tram stops. Unfortunately the standard boutique room we had booked on the net was the size of a British single. However, we asked to be upgraded to a superior room and this was modern, well appointed, large and attractive. The Recepiton staff were charming, efficient and could not have been more helpful with our problem and also with booking restaurants for us in the evening. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyjones_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Love the location of this hotel, can't wait to go back for the third time next year. Hotel has one of the best locations in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burrowbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

I surprised my husband with a birthday trip to Amsterdam, and I'm so glad I chose this hotel. It was in a perfect situation for the Van Gogh museum, and Rijksmuseum, and just round the corner from the couture shops, Armani, Versace etc. Great for window shopping!! It is also very easy to walk into the city centre or pick up a canal tour. We had a standard room, not large, but perfectly adequate for a 3 day stay. The room was very clean, and my husband loved the Memory foam mattress. The hotel is quirky as it has been developed from 3 houses melded together, such a change from the concrete blocks of some hotels. The staff were very welcoming, and helpful when it came to finding and booking restaurants, and airport shuttles etc. The breakfast was also excellent, but pricey, but then the whole city was expensive due to the current exchange rate. It was also very cold at this time of year. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will go back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Caro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,090 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,368 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#79 of 372 in Amsterdam
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#10 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing