We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and idea for a few nights stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #71 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This Hotel is in a nice location away from the main centre,about a 30 min walk from Central Station and just mins away from Vondel park and Van goff museum.The hotel is off average standard,our room tho was very small and a lick of paint would not go a miss in the hall ways.Breakfast was small and limited but just about did the job,in all for a few nights stay in Amsterdam not bad,looking around the center im sure there is worse.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATTHEWBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

As we arrived at the Bilderberg on Jan Luykenstraat, I was greeted by the warm welcome of Marijke, the front desk duty manager. Later that evening, we stopped at the lounge and she even gave us a very knowledge-filled tutorial on fine wines! The staff is what made this experience one of the most pleasant that I have ever had. They were very helpful and attended to our every need. With the professional attitude and hospitality extended by outstanding employees, like Marijke, you can count on us returning to the Bilderberg soon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsmith33706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed at the Bilderberg for 3 nights in July. The hotel had a number of pros and cons:

- Great location, the museums are very close by, there are plenty of shops and restaurants, and it is a quick walk into the centre.
- Excellent customer service - the staff on reception recommended really good restaurants and were able to sell tickets to the museums to save queuing.
- The decor is clean and modern, there is a nice bar with a terrace.

- Our room was really small - just enough room for a double bed and then to walk round it. There was a small window, high up so that you could not see out of it. Other rooms seemed more light and airy but our one was not.
- Internet access is expensive.
- On one day we were given really dirty towels, I only realised once I had got out of the shower - reception did arrange for more to be brought up but the housekeeping staff did not seem concerned/apologetic.
- Staff decided to paint the walls outside our room at 8am, which was quite noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Here's what I realized after doing quite a bit of research for our stop in Amsterdam- don't go cheap on the hotel or you will live to regret it. How do I know? Well, after reading reviews of other place in comparison to price what i figured out is that you can't go too cheap for a room or you will staying in hotel that normally caters to hoards of stoner college kids that congregate for other "attractions". I digress, Anyway, I took the leap and booked our stay here and I could not be happier. This was coming toward the close of our trip and the last thing we needed was a mediocre hotel. This place was clean, quiet, and in a beautiful neighborhood right near the major museums. Yes its compact but why are you spending so much time in your room when you are on vacation?? Its not so small as it is not functional for your stay. I would stay there again and again and I cannot state the courtesy of the staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Comfortable small room in a comfortable size hotel. Charge for wi-fi (probably typical) is high for recreational traveler at 17€ an hour. Parking would be hard; we picked up our car at the end of our stay in Amsterdam. Staff is friendly and helpful re transportation, tickets, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

First room smelled like cigarettes but after paying an extra £15 a night we were upgraded to a lovley room very comfortable bed, great room service, option to rent out the spa room for around £20 an hour. Highly recomended. 5 minute tram ride to city centre. Channel, Dior rijks museum just around the corner.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandLuxuryqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Second time I have stayed at this hotel in 3 years. Highly recommended. Small hotel and rooms clean, bright and spacious. A little bit of luxury away from home. Staff helpful and courteous. Handy for Vondelpark, museums, canal bus and designer shopping. Walking to Jordaan and Nine Little Streets for shopping and atmospheric bars and restaurants is easy. Hotel does not serve dinner but can get snacks in the bar in the evening. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Hotel has bikes for use too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CulturegirlCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#27 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,136 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,410 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#103 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 375 in Amsterdam
911 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#113 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#92 of 375 in Amsterdam
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £96 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing