We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3* pleasantly suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #86 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My partner my brother and I checked into the Westcord City Centre for 2nights from the 29th Sept. We were pleasantly suprised on arrival as we would usually stay at least 4* and this hotel ticked all the boxes. Nice enough Reception, Modern and Trendy Rooms, ok the bathroom wasn't very private but the glass walls added to the decor and feel of the room. We had 2 deluxe double rooms, neither had an actual double bed but 2 singles pushed together - not too big a deal however and they were also very comfy! Flat screen tv's, tea/coffee facilities, hair dryer and shower gels in room, rooms also cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. Cannot comment on breakfast as we did not take this option. Hotel very secure with key cards required to enter late at night and to get upstairs and in lifts.
Hotel itself is within walking distance of Centraal Station, Dam Square and Rembrandt Square not forgetting many coffee shops and red lights for those they appeal too! If anything a quick look / pass by is worth every minute!
All in all we had a nice 2night stay at this hotel but were unfortunately somewhat let down upon checkout when we were advised the €200deposit secured by debit card on check in would be returned in 10 days, we were informed it would be €50 not €200 so this was a bit of a shock. Upon questioning this a rude female receptionist interrupted the male receptionist discussing with us our issues and one of the many things she said to us were "it is no different to if we had taken 1cent" Not very customer service friendly whatsoever!!
We would still recommend this hotel as the cost of the stay was good value for money but check your deposit prior to passing over your card details and if in a position to do so then pay cash so it is given back to you on your check out!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lex086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear Lex086,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback extensively. I am happy to read you have enjoyed your stay and we pleasantly surprised you.

I am sorry for the fact we did not explain the credit card guarantee policy well. I will discuss this with my team.

Nevertheless, I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
There are newer reviews for WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

+ the hotel is beautiful, with nice and new rooms.
+ the location
- one of the receptionists whose the behavior could be more polite.
- the cleanliness of the toilet
- as a couple, we chose double bed. it was not one bed but two put one next to the other. as a result, there was a gap between the two beds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Jen K,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great location. Close to Central Station, Dam Square, Red Light District and a short a tram ride to other squares, museums, etc. Staff are very friendly, efficient, and helpful and rooms are clean and appear to be recently updated. Bed was very comfortable. The only complaint about the room is that it is very small. Hotel is on a busy street so it can be noisy if window left open. If window is closed the noise is reduced significantly. We chose not to include the breakfast so can't comment on it. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the tram noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usanadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear usanadawn,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We value your opinion very much.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It was very nice hotel with modern decoration. Location of the hotel is not exactly in city center ... and it is 6 to 7 tram station far from central station in Amsterdam. The only negative point, in the last day before check-out, house keepers opened 10 times door!!
I loved Skybar in 11th floor ... it really worth to experience. The most important part was free wifi in the hotel. Be careful!! Bathroom door made from glass!! Try to enjoy ... if you can ;)

Room Tip: Room 209 is exactly in front of elevator.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Atapi,

Thank you for your review. However you have stayed in our colleague hotel, the WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam. we are located directly in the city centre. Maybe you can write a review on their page as well.

Nevertheless, I am looking forward to welcoming you back again at WestCord, either with us or at the Fashion hotel.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was our first stop on our European vacation and it was a great place to start. The hotel was clean and had air conditioning and free wifi. We found it to be centrally located-an easy walk to restraunts, shops, the canals and boat tours. The staff spoke english and were very friendly and accomodating. It was an easy walk from the central train station. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Julie N,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and future guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Lucas C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This hotel is very good value and has an excellent location. We enjoyed the breakfast and would stay here again as it is central to everything and near the train station. The rooms are small but very clean and all you need for a weekend visit to this beautiful city.the staff were very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Dawn A,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and future guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#93 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £115 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in our breakfast restaurant. If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘Nieuwendijk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing