We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location, good service, small rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #93 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top location, good service, small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location. It near the train station and also on a main road in town. The rooms are off the street so they are quiet. The location is hard to beat but the rooms are very small. Even with the tiny rooms, everything works well. Breakfasts are also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heywoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Hi heywoj,

Thank you for sharing your review! As we are in a Top A location we indeed decided on providing rooms where you have everything within a hands reach, as otherwise our prices would have gone too far up. All our rooms are differently shaped so it might have happened that the shape of your room made you experience the room as small, in case you come back to Holland, just make sure to share your previous experience and we'll make sure to exceed your expectations!

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    933
    329
    70
    47
See reviews for
203
968
118
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I travel to Amsterdam a few times a year and have stayed at this place several times since 1996 (since then it has changed hands a few times). On the negative side - This last stay was not the best. Even though I'd booked a double bed, I got two singles joined together meaning I couldn't spread out and was confined to one of the singles. The matress was far too soft and meant that it kept moving but dipped so much that I fell off a couple of times. The shower had a funny smell too. It looks like the place has deteriorated a bit since the refurbishment a few years back. On the positive side - I can't fault the service, good as always and the location is perfect. The breakfast was decent too and happy that it was included given the price. Unfortunately because I booked a little last minute (a few weeks before queens day) I had to pay over the odds for this but no fault of the hotel on that.

Room Tip: If you are staying here - get one that faces the front or the back of the building i.e. aligned wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAndMrsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear MrAndMrsFoodie,

Thank you so much for your honest review. I am very sorry to hear that this stay has not been your best. In reply to the drawbacks we took action;

We have made sure to start on "fixing" out Twin mattrasses in order to prevent them from moving; however in case you decide to stay with us again I will make sure to get you a Double bedded bedroom, as we always try to accommodate all requests. This is based on availability, as I understand you were here in a busy time this might explain why we couldn't fully match your needs..

It is extremely complicated to find a mattress that fits everybody's likings; some people like hard mattresses some like soft mattresses. As we investigated the majority of people prefer a soft bed as this gives a sense of luxury. For next time; we have found a solution to "harden up" the beds, so just call reception and we will immediately fix it for you!

We would be delighted to welcome you back again and show you this has been an isolated incident which is not in coherence with the standards of our hotel. In case you are planning on coming back to amsterdam just send an e-mail to lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl and I will personally make sure everything is perfect!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussiere-Saint-Georges, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Business trip to Amsterdam and stayed here for 8 nights. Rooms are very small but clean, first room I could reach both walls at a stretch. The hotel does not do evenng meals so you have to venture out - and the hotel is on the edge of a red light area, so be careful.
Staff were very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if too small. Rooms at rear overlook red lit windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m1keevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear M1keevans,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; I made sure to pass your compliments about the staff. We indeed do not provide dinner facilities, but we're more than happy to advise you one of the great restaurants at a stone stroll distance!

All our rooms are differently shaped and have different views, we're always looking to the perfect match to your request; for your next time please do not hesitate to contact me for extensive information about which room to pick.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed with 3 friends in the triple room, 1 double bed and a single.
We were on the 6th floor which had very good views across Amsterdam.

The room was very clean and modern and the beds where comfortable.

What was rather quirky was the way the bathroom was partitioned from the sleeping area. Its a glass wall with a central horizontal frosted line area for privacy.

Just a 10 minute walk from the train station. Restaurants, bars (including a real ale pub, In De Wildeman) and coffee shops all within a few minutes walk.

I would be happy to recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Westyuk,

Thanks for sharing your review! For next time; just request one of our rooms with stone bathroomwalls, we are always happy to accomodate you to your best liking.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just back from a four night stay at the westcord, locatwd just a five min walk from central station.the hotel was very central for everything and the hotel itself was really good the staff were very friendly and welcoming the rooms are small but big enough, it was also very clean will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneill64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I have passed your compliments about the cleanliness to our Housekeeping department; they were delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very close to Central Station, and tram stop almost at the doorstep. Rooms are small but have nice design. Our room overlooking the Spuistraat was very quiet. Very good check-in, the receptionist noticed that it was my birthday, which resulted in small bottle of wine surprise in our room. Nice luggage storage facility after check-out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter171149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hoping to see you back for your next birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Modern and clean hotel in the center of Amsterdam. Very close to the Central Station (5 minutes walk) and very close to Dam square, Red Light District and more... My room was small, but you don't really need more if you're there to explore the city.

Although my experience there was really good, I decided that next time I'm in Amsterdam I will stay in a less touristic area of the city. But that's just me.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear YMIA,

Thank you for your helpful review! If you prefer to stay in a less touristic area WestCord Fashion hotel or WestCord Art hotel might be great solutions for you.

Also what you could request at making a reservation with us is a room at the backside of the hotel; this gives you a very quiet room with a great view as well!

Warm regards, Lotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#112 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing