We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #87 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 March 2009

This hotel was perfect for our weekend away. I booked it through easy to book.com and it was alot cheaper than anything else I could find in Amsterdam. Room only, 2 nights for £125 for 2 people. The room we were given was on the first floor, which seems like it was the floor that hasn't been renovated, which was a bit disappointing, however the room was clean had all the facilities needed such as tea, coffee, hairdrier etc. Bed was comfortable and cosy with TV in the room as well. The shower was hot and powerful which is was good although bathroom was "compact " and the sink was actually in the bedroom but in a kind of screened off area. The hotel is about a 7 min walk from the Station and it was so easy to find and get to from the airport. We had a view of the back street which did have some brothels on it and upon looking out of the window we could see the working girls in the windows, but our "neighbours" didn't bother us. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Dam Square and is within walking distance of all the main attractions. We didn't have breakfast there so I can't comment on that. We were able to put our bags in storage on our last day and collect them later in the evening before we left for the airport. All in all, I would say if you are looking for luxury this is not the place for you, but if you want somewhere clean and quietish where you can sleep comfortably after a long day sightseeing then it's perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noola78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,144)
There are newer reviews for WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,453 - 1,459 of 2,144 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2009

If you are looking for a hotel in the city centre, clean, modern, comfortable and relaxing this is the one. It was good value for money and was very near all attractions. My wife found its location excellent as she could visit the room during our day walks in order to leave her shopping bags without that being a long distance journey! The bed was comfortable this helped us a lot after the long walks we had in Amsterdam...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Before I went for a meeting in the Hague, from February 9 to 12, me and my sister decided to stop for 1 night in Amsterdam. For a short stay we needed a twin room close to the Central Station, Dam Square and museums. After exhausting web search of Amsterdam's hotels, I chose the Tulip Inn. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for. The location is excellent, about 500 metres of the station, at easy walking distance of the city attractions, shops (Kalvermarkt street is just a step away), restaurants. Though in the very centre the neighbourhood is quite and we slept perfectly . The room was not big but not as small as described in some reviews. In the centre of Amsterdam I think that one couldn't expect much more for this price. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was kind and professional. We didn't have breakfast, but there were many facilities nearby. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone expecting to be centrally located in a comfortable room with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Really great hotel especially for the price, early check in was no problem, the front desk staff very helpful and the rooms are very chic with good decor and plasma TV plus the bathroom is cool. Our room was at the rear and very quiet. Breakfast has everything and we could leave our bags during the day before and evening flight. Dam sq short walk and main station only 5 mins away.
No hesitation in going back there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelvinYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Stayed here 12.02.09 to 15.02.09. Nice hotel with an excellent location. Located in the heart of amsterdam just a short walk from Dam Square and the Damrak. We chose a deluxe room and paid for this through ebookers. Due to booking a deluxe room on this website we had to pay a non refundable price for the hotel but this suited us fine. Upon arrival we were offered a deluxe room to the front or the back of the hotel. The front looks onto the main street with trams and restuarants etc and to the back a quieter street but quite dark almost so we chose the front and we were not disappointed. I found Amsterdam relatively quiet and we were told this was much to do with the recession. There was barely a person on the street at the front of the hotel after midnight and the trams were not noisey and could not be heard through the windows. We were room 214 (2nd floor). Yes the rooms are compact but if you are only here for 3 nights like we were this was not an issue. They were clean, modern, comfortable and trendy with a nice plasma screen. Not a huge amount of wardrobe space. The bathrooms are glass boxed cubes and yes, if you were here with someone you had only just started dating or with a work colleague this would be a definite no no. Although frosted in parts, the door is glass, the walls are glass and the door has an inch gap the whole way round so you can literally see and hear everything. This was no problem for my fiance and i however. Shower is excellent - big, powerful and very roomy! We got maid service every day. We chose not to take the hotel breakfast as at 15 euros a pop we felt it expensive. Amsterdam itself is very pricey!!! We now realise that this is not because everything is over priced in amsterdam but just due to the pound being soooo bad. Our money just flew away!! Seriously. Went there for 4 days and spent £500!! Drinks are thorugh the roof with 2 pints of beer/lager being 10 euros (which is more like £10 nowadays). Outrageous! Food was expensive also with a main course in a simple restaurant, nothing fancy at all, being 15-17 euros. We were even charged 7 euros for a coca cola in one mediocre restaurant. However, all that aside, i have to say i had the best 4 days and i wouldnt change a thing from the hotel, location, people, bars etc. I am just sad to be home!
Feel free to ask me any more questions

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mrsmo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Stayed here for one night mid January. Only complaint was that the heating was uncontrollable. It kept going off all the time. The bathroom would not suit some people as the walls are glass and anyone sharing the room can easily see you using the facilities

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mammamarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Lots of good things said by others on here abut this and the other Tulip inns in Amsterdam but one critisism I would have of the two central ones I have stayed in is that the bathroom design does not provide much privacy for you when you are using the toliet from your room partner. Also the width of the toilet cubicle between the wall and a glass screen is minute. I am 98 kilos/16 stone so large but far from enormous - my shoulders hardly fitted in the gap allowed - honestly - and it made using the toilet uncomfortable when seated. The rooms are small overall so this is part of their 'squeezing a lot into a little' design I guess - I would not stay there out of choice again.

I still can't beat the Swissotel on Dam Square - it is just great.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,212 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
948 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#68 of 371 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £112 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in our breakfast restaurant. If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘Nieuwendijk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing