We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't mind coming back to this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Very nice room; we had booked a deluxe room w/ a jacuzzi, and that is never wrong, I suppose... A bit on the expensive side, but actually worth it. They charge €16 p.p. for breakfast, which we felt was a bit much, but to our delight, they offer prosecco at the buffet. Suddenly a very tempting breakfast! And we also found the rest of the buffet very satisfactory.
Nice staff - nothing to complain about there.
The only thing that was a bit on the negative side was that there was a "noisy" family in the neighbour room - the kids started playing and yelling at 7 in the morning.

But - all in all - we would really recommend this hotel to everyone. Nice neighbourhood, quiet, laid-back. Nice restaurants nearby.
And Amsterdam offered summer temperatures!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sand1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,610 - 2,616 of 3,982 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for four nights in early May 2011. All the reviews are accurate. The hotel is charming, comfortable and clean. The staff are excellent. It is in walking location to everything. We rented two rooms, one for my son and one for my husband and myself. Both were excellent, and uniquely and creatively decorated. Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for steering us as usual to a wonderful hotel. PS- We liked the hotel's calico cat! She didn't seem too interested in the beautiful tropical fish in the aquarium though. :)

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cyd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in May and it was just perfect ! Great location and very nice staff. We asked for an early check in before leaving and they had a room ready for us. And we were very early. Our room was very nice. We were on the back side (Not facing the canal) but we still enjoyed the view. The hotel is very close to some very good Restaurants. Our last night in Amsterdam the staff recommended a place called Casa Di David. What a great place. Excellent food and great wait staff. We will most definitely return to Amsterdam and the Estherea hotel !! Thank you so much for making our stay in Amsterdam so great !!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flight96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Arrived with my family for one-night stay. Children were given two welcome gifts. The reception staff were very good and efficient. The parking is located just behind the hotel. Expensive, but absolutely needed in Amsterdam - police boots your car. The room was clean and perfectly arranged for a family (2+2). The only inconvenience was the size of the bathroom, which was very small.
The quality of breakfast (€16 per adult, children do not pay) was superb. Even the cappuccino was very good - a rare treat. They charge customers €10 for wifi (24 hours) - worked very well. For those who do not need wifi, there are 2 complementary PCs. My wife and I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, which is an ancient house completely renovated with style. Location is great, also - Very close to Anne Frank Museum and Magna Plaza (less than 10 minutes). The Van Gogh Museum is at 20 minutes on foot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novembre1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We had a pleasant stay. Location is great and the staff on the front desk are polite and helpful. Coffee available downstairs makes up a little for not having this facility in the room. We had one of the larger rooms, and paid for the canal view - and this wasn't particularly large so I would not want to stay in a smaller room here. The hotel just felt dated. Chintzy or old world charm? Not our style but it was very clean. We still have not found the hotel in Amsterdam that we'd keep going back to. Overall fine and pleasant but expensive for the size of room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickW067067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Already said by other reviewers - this is an excellent location for visiting Amsterdam by foot or otherwise. We had a deluxe room with jacuzzi bath in the back of the hotel (room 203) on a fairly busy street. Noise was not much of a problem probably because of the soundproofing in the doors that opened to tiny balconies. Bathroom was fairly spacious, but the room itself was slightly cramped with all the luggage that we had. Probably fine for weekend travelers, but we had come from the States with lots of luggage and not much room to place our clothes or the luggage. The staff is excellent and friendly and I thought that the public rooms were very pleasant. "She" said that they reminded her of a bordello, although she has never been in one! We had a pleasant stay and I would stay there again, but would want to pay no more than the equivalent of $300 per night. For people with multiple iPads, computers, etc., the hotel's WiFi only allows one user to be on at a time and you will have to shut down all the other devices to get on a new one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

All the other positive comments are true about this lovely hotel. Glamorous,clean, comfy, delicious free coffee in lounge and 24hr bar. Every major sight was within walking distance the canal right outside, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Perfect for a short break!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,225 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £152 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing