We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to rest in towncenter”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

a very nice 4 star hotel within walking distance of Palace, New Church and Dam, public transport stops just a few minutes walk away. yet very quiet and luxurious, we loved the way everything was decorated, the pretty wallpapers especially and we had not expected to have such a large bathroom. being Dutch we know people living in Amsterdam canal houses, so we have seen rather cramped bathroom situations.
they had some lovely sitting rooms, a real library and 2 computers with free internet access in the shared space.
and to top it off they served a great breakfast too!

Room Tip: views of canal probably from 410 and 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,067)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,679 - 2,685 of 4,067 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was a wonderful hotel. It is clean and well appointed, located right on the Singel canal, two blocks from the tram line and less than a 15 minute walk to the central train station. Our room was large and very comfortable, overlooking the canal. The staff was great, recommending several restaurants we thoroughly enjoyed: Zwaante, Harkeema Brasserie, and Seasons. The hotel has complimentary coffee and tea available in the lobby all day and pastries after breakfast. Internet access in the lobby is free on their computers, and if you become a "Friend of Hotel Estherea" on their website before you go, you should have free access in your room and a discounted room rate (one desk clerk said we would only be eligible after a second visit to the hotel, but I asked another clerk later and she gave us the access and the discount - almost $100 saved!).

Room Tip: canal side is on street but still quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I admit, I have a fixation on Hotel Estherea. It is hands down the nicest hotel in Amsterdam, perfectly located, professionally staffed, and absolutely gorgeous. I cannot think of anywhere else I could spend an hour waiting out a rain storm, reading the International Herald Tribune, drinking the complementary coffee/espresso/latte and munching pastries, and not start climbing the walls. The rooms are gem-like creations that really are as nice as they appear on the website, the setting is as pretty as it appears in traveler photos, and lucky for me, Amsterdam provides a wonder of things to do--check out the Bimhuis website for world-class jazz--so that when I plan yet another trip to this jewel of a hotel I can easily justify it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worshiguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I've stayed in three other hotels in Dam inc. the Grand Krasnopolsky. All were great but none had the charm and personality of this one. I stayed with my boyfriend for 4 nights and loved everything about the look and feel of the place. Its beautifully decorated throughout. The staff were very helpful when we enquired about the whereabouts of the chocolate festival. The receptionist didn't know anything about it but went right out of her way to research it for us. Also, the hot chocolate in the foyer is very moreish. Singel is good location not far from the hustle and bustle of Damrak/ Dam Square etc. If there was any downside then I guess you could say the hotel bar was under-manned. But that is the only criticism I can think of. Obviously this hotel is one of the more pricey ones in Amsterdam but you'll know that when doing your research and I guarantee it is worth every penny. The Estherea was a haven for us in Dam while we shopped and travelled to Utrecht for a concert and I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We had 3 nights in this lovely, small hotel. Our room 407, was tiny, but spotlessly clean, overlooking the canals. Breakfast was wonderful and staff were very friendly. There is a seating area in the lounge and bar area and newspapers are available free of charge, as is tea and coffe and a small selection of cakes and sweets. In the lounge area,
2 computers are avaible for guests' use at no cost. The hotel is located very centrally and it's easy to walk to all the main attractions. The railway station is about 30 minutes walk away over cobblestones and crowded streets, a Taxi might be easier on the luggage and you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rovers816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Very nice room; we had booked a deluxe room w/ a jacuzzi, and that is never wrong, I suppose... A bit on the expensive side, but actually worth it. They charge €16 p.p. for breakfast, which we felt was a bit much, but to our delight, they offer prosecco at the buffet. Suddenly a very tempting breakfast! And we also found the rest of the buffet very satisfactory.
Nice staff - nothing to complain about there.
The only thing that was a bit on the negative side was that there was a "noisy" family in the neighbour room - the kids started playing and yelling at 7 in the morning.

But - all in all - we would really recommend this hotel to everyone. Nice neighbourhood, quiet, laid-back. Nice restaurants nearby.
And Amsterdam offered summer temperatures!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sand1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed here for four nights in early May 2011. All the reviews are accurate. The hotel is charming, comfortable and clean. The staff are excellent. It is in walking location to everything. We rented two rooms, one for my son and one for my husband and myself. Both were excellent, and uniquely and creatively decorated. Thank you Trip Advisor reviewers for steering us as usual to a wonderful hotel. PS- We liked the hotel's calico cat! She didn't seem too interested in the beautiful tropical fish in the aquarium though. :)

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cyd k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,697 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,871 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £107 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing