We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent. I recommend it.”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
buenos aires
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“excellent. I recommend it.”
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The location is wonderful and the hotel is comfortable. The rooms are big and beautiful. They make your stay even better with their kidness and some extras, like the coffee machine and candies and some cookies, etc in the afternoon. I really recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthercbuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,660
    945
    163
    44
    33
See reviews for
681
2,115
119
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Wonderful location on the Singel canal, delicious sumptious buffet breakfasts, helpful and courteous staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acpiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

What a lovely hotel , friendly staff nothing too much trouble , fantastic room, jacuzzi bath and fridge , we asked for quiet rooms so did not have canal side view but slept so peacefully after busy day sight seeing , very luxurious decor and so relaxing.
Comfy bed and pillows I really cant fault it, after speaking to friends who have been to Amsterdam before and stayed else where we had a great hotel in lovely surroundings, within walking distance of all attractions including Anne Frank house, canal trips and red like district its ideal.
Breakfast is pricey at 16 euros each but fresh and plentiful , cooked , fruit , smoothies usual meat , salad cereal we ate enough to skip lunch !.
the red light district has been toned down as in no open drug dealers like five years ago and we felt very safe to walk around, beware the erotic show its less erotic and just pure mechanical sex ! very seedy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janethemidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

After reading the reviews in TA, we decided to stay at what turned out to be a charming hotel, within walking distance (or a quick bus to the museum) of everything we wanted. The rooms, although on the small side, are beautifully designed and decorated and very clean with comfortable beds. The lobby is inviting with 2 free computers and free coffee and cakes throughout the day. The staff is helpful and friendly, the breakfast first rate. Do yourself a favor and stay at this very comfortable and charming hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsmgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The lobby area of the hotel was very nice and well decored. The fish tank just gorgeous. So colourful. Reception staff very pleasant and greeted you with a friendly smile.
Our room was very very small looking out onto the lift. As the lift was glass, you had to make sure your curtains were closed so other guests could not see into your room. The bed was comfortable. However the room did smell musty.
If you have more than 2 bags this room would be way to small for you. As it was we had to place one bag onto a chair and a very small table in the room, as there was not much floor space.
We didn't have breakfast as it was a little pricey 16 euro per person. Downstairs they had a tea and coffee machine for you to enjoy a hot drink. This was a nice touch and not seen in Europe very much.
Location was very good, away from the main area, but still good walking distance to main attractions.

Room Tip: Room not looking at the Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bells54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights/3 days at Hotel Estherea prior to Baltic Cruise departing from Amsterdam. The hotel was much more than we anticipated...lucked-out on this one, which we found on Trip Advisor. The hotel maintains an old European style yet with modern comforts.

We chose the breakfast-included rate and we amazingly surprised at the extent of the breakfast (after reading other Trip Advisor reviews). The breakfast staff was eager to customize their menu for our allergy/health requirements and even remembered us the next morning with same dishes. No need to have lunch during the day after this sumptuous buffet in the morning.

As for the rooms, we did get a king bed as we reserved (2 twins made-up together). Be aware that you must leave your room key at the front desk each time you leave the hotel. The decor of the bedroom was beautiful, soothing and comfortable. The bed was heavenly - wish I had one at home! The blackout curtains were really blackout - which we needed to get onto the time change. HOWEVER, we had packed luggage for a 12 day cruise, and there was absolutely no room in the room to open the luggage. It was typically European tiny. We had to stack the bags. So if you are planning this as a layover for your cruise, be sure to plan one small bag with all you need for those days and ask to leave the other pieces in their luggage room.

The bathroom was impeccable - looked very new and the towels were bigger than most hotels...seriously- my husband is a big guy, and he had no complaints about the bath towel after his shower. Dryer, lotion, shampoo, body soap, shower cap all included in the bathroom kit.

This location in the Jordaan District was an easy jump-off point to everything, once you get the hang of the canals and the tram stops. The front desk was very helpful with all of our crazy tourist questions. The lobby bar had free snacks (nuts, cracker mix, etc) and fresh mint-flavored ice water available all day. There were also free pastries in the afternoon.

We would plan a trip to Amsterdam and stay at this hotel in a heartbeat! Go and enjoy! -Eileen in Plano, TX, USA

Room Tip: ask for interiour courtyard room - much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookiemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

a very nice 4 star hotel within walking distance of Palace, New Church and Dam, public transport stops just a few minutes walk away. yet very quiet and luxurious, we loved the way everything was decorated, the pretty wallpapers especially and we had not expected to have such a large bathroom. being Dutch we know people living in Amsterdam canal houses, so we have seen rather cramped bathroom situations.
they had some lovely sitting rooms, a real library and 2 computers with free internet access in the shared space.
and to top it off they served a great breakfast too!

Room Tip: views of canal probably from 410 and 411
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,636 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing