We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely rude staff let this nice looking hotel down”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I had read great things about the Estherea so was really looking forward to our stay. When we tried to check in and discovered that they'd let our rooms out in error we were then horrified by how rude the 'manager' proceeded to be to us. She basically suggested that if we weren't happy with our lot (crap rooms with double beds and not what we'd booked) then we should go to another hotel. It was without doubt one of the worst experiences of customer service that I have ever encountered in all my years of travelling. Sadly this wasn't an isolated incident. The woman in the restaurant the next day was horrifically rude to one of my travelling companions. It's a shame as this could be a great place. If they retrained their vile staff then we would have had a very different experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cheyenne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estherea303, Owner at Hotel Estherea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Madam,

We very much regret your dissatisfaction with the situation and we are very sorry for the inconvenience, but we would like to point out that for the error, we did offer you an upgrade, a discount on the room rate and after you insisted the manager also included the free breakfast. During your stay here you claimed to be satisfied with our offer, but now after having read your review and what you wrote about other hotels in the past, we do wonder what would be necessary to make you satisfied during your trips.

Kind regards,

Esther Peper- Esselaar
Owner at Hotel Estheréa in Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,670 - 2,676 of 4,066 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Estherea for three nights at the end of our vacation. The location is great - close proximity to Nine Streets shopping district, the Palace, and walkable from Centraal Station. The hotel is quiet and the service was great; I especially liked the espresso/hot chocolate machine in the lobby for unlimited drinks! They even provide to-go cups so you can take your latte with you when you set out for the day : ) Our room was on the first floor (over the lobby) with a street view (would have preferred canal view, but didn't want to pay for it). It was very large, especially for Amsterdam standards, with plenty of operable windows but also central air and the bathroom even had double sinks! The windows had blackout curtains so we could sleep in comfortably after a late night. The only complaint is that you could hear the people above you walking, but we were in an old canal house... If you book through their website and join "Friends of Estherea" you receive extra perks - like free wireless - so definitely try that. I found the rate comparable to other sites and the perks persuaded us. It's not a party hotel - we were definitely the youngest couple there (in our late 20s) - but we didn't feel judged coming in late-night after going out! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again when in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecdickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The location is wonderful and the hotel is comfortable. The rooms are big and beautiful. They make your stay even better with their kidness and some extras, like the coffee machine and candies and some cookies, etc in the afternoon. I really recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esthercbuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Wonderful location on the Singel canal, delicious sumptious buffet breakfasts, helpful and courteous staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acpiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

What a lovely hotel , friendly staff nothing too much trouble , fantastic room, jacuzzi bath and fridge , we asked for quiet rooms so did not have canal side view but slept so peacefully after busy day sight seeing , very luxurious decor and so relaxing.
Comfy bed and pillows I really cant fault it, after speaking to friends who have been to Amsterdam before and stayed else where we had a great hotel in lovely surroundings, within walking distance of all attractions including Anne Frank house, canal trips and red like district its ideal.
Breakfast is pricey at 16 euros each but fresh and plentiful , cooked , fruit , smoothies usual meat , salad cereal we ate enough to skip lunch !.
the red light district has been toned down as in no open drug dealers like five years ago and we felt very safe to walk around, beware the erotic show its less erotic and just pure mechanical sex ! very seedy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janethemidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

After reading the reviews in TA, we decided to stay at what turned out to be a charming hotel, within walking distance (or a quick bus to the museum) of everything we wanted. The rooms, although on the small side, are beautifully designed and decorated and very clean with comfortable beds. The lobby is inviting with 2 free computers and free coffee and cakes throughout the day. The staff is helpful and friendly, the breakfast first rate. Do yourself a favor and stay at this very comfortable and charming hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The lobby area of the hotel was very nice and well decored. The fish tank just gorgeous. So colourful. Reception staff very pleasant and greeted you with a friendly smile.
Our room was very very small looking out onto the lift. As the lift was glass, you had to make sure your curtains were closed so other guests could not see into your room. The bed was comfortable. However the room did smell musty.
If you have more than 2 bags this room would be way to small for you. As it was we had to place one bag onto a chair and a very small table in the room, as there was not much floor space.
We didn't have breakfast as it was a little pricey 16 euro per person. Downstairs they had a tea and coffee machine for you to enjoy a hot drink. This was a nice touch and not seen in Europe very much.
Location was very good, away from the main area, but still good walking distance to main attractions.

Room Tip: Room not looking at the Lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bells54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,211 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#7 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,871 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
488 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £114 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing