We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We spent seven days at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location, on the Singel canal (Singelgracht) and close to both Spui and Centraal Station, was very convenient. We had a basic, interior room, but it was quite nice. The bathroom was very modern. I assume that it has been rennovated very recently. The lobby has two PC's available for you and very comfortable lounging areas. Coffee, tea and some sweets are always available. The staff was courteous and helpful. My only disappointments were that there was no free wireless and breakfast was sufficiently pricey that we chose to eat elsewhere, but a new guest program eliminates both shortcomings. We loved Amsterdam and are certain to return. When we do, we will be staying at Hotel Estherea, hand's down.

Room Tip: I am told that the canal view rooms are very desireable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneVeryHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,660
    945
    163
    44
    33
See reviews for
681
2,115
119
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This hotel has a beautiful lobby with several rooms including a lounge, a library, a bar and a reading room. Our room had a fridge, a safe and a bathtub. Staff provided excellent service. We decided not to order the breakfast which was pricey. Location near the Dam, the History Museum, the canal bus and cafes and restaurants was a real plus.

Room Tip: Use the 48 hour canal bus for 33Euro for transportation all around Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snarf1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Read all the reviews and decided on the Estherea.
It did not disappoint - on the contrary, it exceeded all my expectations.
The hotel is charming in every way, and more beautiful in real life than the photos can show. It is like a jewel in Amsterdam.
I stayed for 3 nights here, my friend stayed in another hotel nearby (booked too late).
Loved all the things that the other reviewers have said about the hotel -
check-in - friendly and warm - the girls at reception were lovely and so helpful
room - quiet and had everything I needed, absolutely spotlessly clean and no-smoking throughout. The room faced the other block of rooms, but this means they are the quietest. Ask for the 2nd or the first floor - they are quietest.
free hot chocolate, the use of the computers in the lobby (free), the beautifully kept fish tank, beautiful lights, florals, made the hotel really special.
Oh did I mention the yummy buffet breakfast with everything you could imagine.
Close by,
a) the Nine Streets shopping - do not miss La Savonniere
b) Brootje Bert - irresistible burgers
c) Kantil and Tiger for a reasonable rijstaffel dinner
Best restaurant (make reservations early) was Tempo Doloe - don't miss this one. Everything was delicious and they make excellent cocktails too!
Amsterdam can be daunting to lady travellers, so the best tip is to travel with a friend (romantic trips are highly recommended) and chart your route before you set out. Second best tip is to buy a season tram ticket - tram rides can add up.

Room Tip: Book early; ask for 1st or 2nd floor quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxurynCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
471 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Hotel Estherea is our first choice in Amsterdam. We have stayed here several times and always enjoy the service, rooms and food. The lobby fish tank is a real bonus. The WiFi worked perfectly and the breakfast is outstanding. Staff are friendly and helpful. The location is excellent and we are always impressed with how well the hotel is kept up.

Room Tip: Reserve Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbgoodkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff were friendly and the rooms were beautiful with the best bed we have ever slept on. We found we could walk to all sights and restaurants from this wonderful hotel. the room was always clean and comfortable but the gym was pretty much non-existent. we found the buffet breakfast to have a lot of variety and always fresh. we will be staying here again on our next visit

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjh2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

My sister and I decided to tour Amsterdam for three days and nights before we connected with our two week Holocaust Remembrance Tour. I have gotten in the habit of relying primarily upon Tripadvisors.com in helping me select a hotel. Tripadvisors and your followers did not disappoint me in the least in their reviews of Hotel Estherea of Amsterdam. The hotels central location was perfect as base for getting around. Although we decided not to get a room overlooking a canal, we did get a deluxe sized room with two double beds knowing that most standard sized European hotel rooms are considerably smaller than their USA counterparts. The hotel is charming from the outside, to the inside, and within our room. The front-desk staff was top notch, e.g. they were quite personable and exceptionally knowledgeable and accommodating, e.g. how to get around and restaurant recommendations. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others, but more importantly, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't select a standard sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiast1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We have been travelling throughout Europe for the past 19 months and this is simply one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We base ourselves in London and from there make extensive forays into the EU and I can't think of a better hotel than Estherea!

The free tea & coffee & cakes in the foyer is unique and the canal room we had was utterly delightful. The staff were all so helpful at all times of the day. As we drove from London, the underground state of the art car parking system was itself a feature. Of course this was at a fee of E50 per day and for central Amsterdam that was reasonable.

We rarely eat in hotels and prefer to wander out and about for our sustenance so we can't comment on their food.

Brilliantly situated, the Estherea is simply a must!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPL-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,636 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing