We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #20 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Booked this hotel on other trip advisor recommendations and could not fault it. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless and the bar and library area were lovely. Am normally a critical visitor but could find nothing to moan about, perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,561 - 2,567 of 4,071 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We just had a quick tour of London, Amsterdam, and Paris. By far, the best hotel of our trip was this one (thank you, all the reviewers before me!). With three of us (husband, daughter, and me), we got the very lovely and spacious room 319, a symphony of blue tones with a superb view over the canal and a truly gorgeous (albeit small) bathroom. The extra bed was a sleigh bed of fine polished wood, no cheap pullout affair. The library and lobby proved great spaces for us to wait for one other. The breakfast was a bit pricey for our American wallets, but it was free for children, which was nice, and nicer still was the around-the-clock free coffee/espresso drinks/hot chocolate and cookies. The hotel staff were very friendly and directed us to a super Indonesian restaurant (Indrapura). We walked to it, like to most places we went. Taxis, which we took to the train station, came in under 5 minutes. Should we come again to Amsterdam, we'll be stopping here.

Room Tip: The -19 rooms are at the end of hallways, so we had no trouble with hallway noise that others have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DbTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Good hotel. Helpful staff. Room very small but comfortable bed. Good view, though.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenataMattos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We just returned from a 4 night stay in Hotel Estherea. We had a really lovely time in Amsterdam, and much of that was due to the suptuous hotel we were staying in. Check-in was very efficient, and reception staff were friendly. The lounge and bar areas were really comfortable and a great place to chill out with a book, and enjoy the complimentary coffees and cakes. We stayed in a standard room, and although it was small, the elegant decor made up for it. The bathroom was also small, but again, the space was used well. The only downside to our room was the noise, which has been mentioned by previous reviewers. We could cearly and frequently hear footseps of guests walking past our room, and being on the first floor, we also heard footsteps in the room above.

The location was fantastic - a 15 minute walk from central station (and easy to find!), close to the main landmarks, yet away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. There was a huge (and lovvely variety) of places to eat and drink right behind the hotel.

All in all, I would definitely reccommend this hotel, and if you're not an early riser (like us), you might want to take along a pair of ear-plugs to avoid being woken up by other guests stomping past your room in the morning!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaraDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This was my second stay in the past year. This hotel is in a great location, has a terrific staff, serves snacks and hot and cool beverages 24/7, and has one of the nicest lobbies you will see. The rooms are comfortable, clean and modern. I can afford more expensive hotels, but will choose Estherea every time.

Room Tip: Ask the reception desk to look at available rooms. If available, they will assist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bordeaux71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Had a lovely stay here. High quality room, very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Service excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunseekerGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. A great location on the Singel, Amsterdam's oldest major canal, in the old city center. The room was very comfortable with a large bath by European standards. A delighful lobby, sitting area with complimentary coffee / hot chocolate. The staff was professional and offered good recommendations for restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kktraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
496 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £113 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing