We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, love, love Amsterdam and the Hotel Estherea!”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love, love, love Amsterdam and the Hotel Estherea!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

First trip to Amsterdam as part of a 10-day vacation over Thanksgiving week. Can't wait to go back!

I needed a few things in a hotel when I was booking: an elevator, as my elderly mother has trouble with stairs; preferred not to do the large chain hotels; larger rooms than is customary in Amsterdam; I still wanted that old European charm. This hotel delivered it all. The front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating, even at 9:30pm. They gave us rooms right next to each other - my husband and me in 110 and my mother in 112. These upgraded canal-view rooms had more than enough space. The bathroom was on the small side, but still plenty of room to shower and such. Our rooms had a tub/shower combo, single sink, and commode. The doors are louvered, not solid. Our bed was indded a king. Mother's was 2 twins pushed together; but she was a single so it didn't matter.

The heavy, interlined draperies help to deaden the noise from outside. But they also cover the heat registers. You may want to lift a few panels up onto tops of the wooden radiator covers to keep the heat in the room.

This hotel has been updated and modernized, but it is still an old soul at heart. The floors in the halls creak...GASP! And the walls are not super insulated from sound. If that's the type of hotel you are looking for, stay at the Hilton.

The doors are locked at 11pm. You simply buzz the intercom and the desk clerk will let you in. We never had a problem with this. The hot beverage bar and sweet treats were also a nice touch. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant. We preferred to experience the local businesses.

It is a little pricier than many hotels in Amsterdam. But given the location, the staff, and the charm, it's so worth it.

Room Tip: Spring for the upgrade to a canal-view deluxe room. Outside noise is going to be directly related...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keld0rama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,633
    942
    161
    42
    33
See reviews for
675
2,097
119
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

LOVED:
* Excellent location
* Room overlooking the canal
* Wonderful breakfast buffet
* Very nice and helpful staff
DIDN'T REALLY LOVE:
* Heating failure and no way to start it, resulting in a really chilly December night!
Hotel management made up for this, though, by offering us free breakfast and, as I mentioned earlier, Estherea breakfast is really worth a try!
* Over-decorated hotel...I am more on the minimal/contemporary design side
* Tiniest bathroom
HATED:
* 2011 - almost 2012 - and still NO FREE WI-FI for hotel guests...could you believe it?!?

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Our first trip to Amsterdam and the hotel Estherea was a choice with few regrets. in a perfect location to experience the scale and charm of Amsterdam and be close to all the it has to offer, it was comfortable inviting and hospitable. Our room overlooking the canal had a postcard view. Though the room was small and over abundant with upholstery it mimicked the scale of the city. The public areas with comfortable sitting areas, a myriad of reading material and an accomplished aquariam; in and of itself entertaining, completed the hotel experience. Our only regret was a seemingly disinterested staff at the desk that never seemed to engage with its clientele.

Room Tip: the rooms are small but comfortable. if size is important ask for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the Estherea during our long weekend trip to Amsterdam and couldn't have been happier! From the moment we arrived, we were treated to exceptional service from the reception staff, who remained courteous, helpful and friendly throughout our stay.
Our room was beautiful and a good size, with blue patterned wallpaper, chandeliers and a very comfy bed. It felt very luxurious but with loads of character! The canal view was a very welcome bonus (although if you are a light sleeper, earplugs are available at reception, as it can get a little noisy at night). The bathroom was a good size and exceptionally clean. It is worth noting that house keeping was to an excellent standard throughout our stay.
The free hot drinks and cakes/snacks available in the lobby was a really nice touch and we enjoyed sitting at the intimate hotel bar for a drink before heading out for dinner.
The location is excellent, close to the '9 streets' area with an abundance of cafes, restaurants and cool shops - It is easy to walk around and explore most parts of the city from this location.
We can not recommend this hotel highly enough!! We will be sure to return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed for two nights at Estherea with my wife on our first weekend for ourselves after the arrival of our baby girl - and we couldn't have asked for anything more. Beautiful, old-style room with three large windows with direct view to the beautiful canals and in a great area with plenty of shopping, good dining and great vibes. We really have to give Estherea our very best recommendations!! We will come back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiklasBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

A perfect hotel. Superb location with appealing shops and inviting bars right by. Wonderful cost room. Really welcoming bar to settle in. Help-yourself complimentary coffee and cakes. Don't bother searching loads of other hotels book this one. Ps I don't normally bother writing reviews.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Spent a great week-end at hotel Estherea. Perfect location, you can walk to all the important Amsterdam sites from here. We had a beautiful room with canal view from three windows, comfy beds, nice big bathroom. We arrived early and got our room right away. The breakfast buffet is very good with attentive staff and well worth the money. Efficient housekeeping, our room was made up during the time we spent at the breakfast buffet and was just ready when we came back, great! After a day of museums, having coffee or tea and pastries in the library is a perfect way to unwind. A true luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceSuedeSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing