We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our entire vacation of 8 countries”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Four star hotel that is on the verge of being five ! The location on the Singel is perfect. A quiet street only a short (5 min.) stroll to the Damtrack, flower market, Rembrant Square (restaurants), and canal cruises.
Old polished wood makes this hotel a charm to be in where it is easy to visualize travellers of yesteryear dressed in their finery. (Sad today that most folks wear jeans for cocktails) The bar is a delight but be aware a "martini" means white vermouth, not an american style gin or vodka martini. Best to order vodka with ice.
Our room, small suite (#210) overlooking the canal was one of the most romantic rooms we have been in. Superb housekeeping, comfortable bed with nice linens. You can sit for hours gazing out the window (that opens) overlooking the canal traffic.
Breakfast is typical european with scrambled eggs and bacon for foreigners from North America. Free cappicinno night and day (automated serve your self) and pastries in the afternoon when you come back from a day of touring.
I would suggest five stars if they had robes in the rooms.
Would I return to this hotel = absolutely, and rebook #210.

Room Tip: Spend the extra Euros and book a canal view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,273 - 2,279 of 3,980 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Nice and "old fashion" hotel in a quite, but very central located in a canal street.
Friendly and attentive staff.

walking distance to all turist attractions downtown Amsterdam.

Breakfast was a bit pricy, but had a wide selction.

Comfortable and good quality bed in superior room

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OsloMikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel made our trip to Amsterdam. the hotel lobby was decorated with a soothing, elegant vibe. The staff were so very helpful with our room situation. My wife likes clean and this hotel was very tidy and clean. Kids loved the hot chocolate maker in the lobby. Location is away from all the hustle
, but close tonAnne Frank and Damnsquare.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank 203TomK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hotel Estherea is just great. Ideal location near all the action but tucked away on quiet canal street. Our local friends could even easily find parking! Near 9 streets boutique shops and restaurants. It's out of the "seedy" element. A fairly small property, a little quirky, but upscale. Room was large, huge dormer window, big bathroom. Staff (front desk, bellman) were really top notch, helpful, pleasant. Can see this place as a good choice for vacation or business. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: They offer triple rooms with large roll aways for kids, very unusual for Europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Excellent service, very friendly and helpful. Quick check-in, very cosi and charming decoration. Team trained and very sympatoc with everybody. Expresso Coffee machine for free all day and night. Very nice breakfast, with champagne included. Location perfect for discover the city. Really nice place to stay. I recommend. ( forbiden smoke into the hotel )

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Nice hotel in a good central Amsterdam location. Nothing "wow" about it. Picked it on the basis of a recommendation in Frommers and suspect a similar number of guests had done the same. While it was fine for one night, I wouldn't be rushing back. We didn't eat there as the breakfast price was excessive and got a perfectly acceptable breakfast in a small place 50m along the road which for 2 of us cost €11 in total.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We had a lovely room on the top floor overlooking the canal. Although the room was quite small (it was the largest one on the floor) and had a closet-style bathroom, it was well-appointed. The breakfast was quite expensive for 18 euros but offered a good selection of items. The community areas downstairs were comfortable and the staff rather accomodating given that a group of Russian visitors took over one of the large dining-style tables ALL DAY, dining on eggs and food that they'd apparently brought either with them or were cooking in their rooms. Regardless, we would have given the hotel 4-5 stars except for a rather unpleasant incident that occurred late in our stay.

One morning at 9:30 just as we were leaving to go downstairs for breakfast, one of the guests appeared, dressed only in his underpants with a large hairy belly hanging out, and complained that we were making too much noise, telling us that he couldn't sleep. Let me first say that we are extremely quiet people and are always aware and respectful of those around us. Apparently, his room was directly below us and he was trying to sleep in. The only noise that might have occurred that morning was our walking in stockinged feet, getting ready for the day. We'd fly around the room if we could. After reading other TA reviews, it appears that noises are carried down to guests below and others have been accused of similar behavior.

On the way out that day, the gentleman at the front desk mentioned the complaint that the other guest had apparently made to him and told us that the he should not have bothered us. He did not accuse us or question us in any way and handled it professionally.

The following morning, we had to leave early for a flight home, so we packed the night before and did everything in our power to reduce noise. Just as we were walking out the door, the night staff person showed up at our door and in a rather accusatory tone, told us he had gotten a complaint and came up "to find out what was going on." It was clear that we were leaving but he wanted us to know that this guest had complained before too. I told him that I felt as though he were laying the blame on us and he said no, he repeated that he was just trying to find out what was going on up here - it still felt like he thought we were at fault. I told him that he should look at the TA reviews, as there were other complaints of this nature and clearly it was an issue with the hotel (poor sound insulation or such) and not a problem caused by the guests. He dismissed this. When I asked him if he was a manager, rather than tell us no, he said very rudely that he wouldn't be working at night if he were a manager. We thought that he handled this situation poorly and unprofessionally.

In the future, the staff should investigate complaints by either listening from the room of the complainer and determining whether the noise is beyond reasonable or stand in the hallway outside of the door of the accused. The walls in this hotel are very thin and we listened to our neighbors' televisions constantly.

Finally, twice we asked for recommendations for gourmet places to dine and both times the staff seemed perplexed and sent us off to restaurants that were very touristy (menu translated into a hundred languages) and not reviewed well on the internet. When we asked specifically for Michelin restaurants the staff could not direct us to any, even the Bib Gourmand would have been fine.

I don't know if we'll return to this hotel mainly because of the rude night manager. In my mind, he should be trained or fired. He is definitely a liability to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Eat_out_often
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,224 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
789 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £152 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing