We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, perfectly located”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, perfectly located”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

When I used to think of Amsterdam I would associate it with stag doo's and spliff. However, having been I would thoroughly recommend it to you. We went in February, and it was very very cold - the canals all frozen and heavy with snow. This all added to the beauty of the place. Im sure all of my initial misgivings are true about Amsterdam, however the Hotel Estherea is perfectly situated in the old (and best) part of town and far enough away from anything unseemly. Situated on the banks of the Singel Canal, there are boutique shops, little bars and resturants all around you - although most of them are shut until 11am so dont bother getting up too early and enjoy a leisurely breakfast at the hotel - its very good. Our room was beautifully oppulent - felt like royalty. The rooms are not huge, but they are perfectly appointed as are the bathrooms. We would definitely visit Amsterdam again, and when we do we will return to this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,634
    942
    161
    42
    33
See reviews for
675
2,097
119
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

A fabulously opulent room and fantastic breakfast were the highlights of my brief stay at this hotel. It is also very well located and had friendly staff. The lounge areas were very impressive too - with a nice library area, tropical fish tank and fake (TV) fire!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Couldn't ask for a nicer place to spend three days exploring Amsterdam. The location was perfect on the Singel Canal. Very easy to walk to all the main attractions. Conveniently located from Amsterdam Centraal. We took a taxi to the hotel because it was raining, and only cost 8 euro, but it was only a fifteen minute walk. The hotel felt luxurious but not stuffy. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. All the little extra details should give this hotel five stars. They provided us with an iPad to use for our entire stay, umbrellas, ponchos, free coffee, hot chocolate, tea and cookies in the lobby. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but right on the corner is a great deli for croissants, and eggs. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisam494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel while visiting Amsterdam. The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very nice. The room was clear and very nicely decorated. There was a small step up from the bedroom into the bathroom. The floor was dark slate and I think this was very dangerous. It was difficult to see that there was a step up... The bathroom itself was really beautiful and well done. In the lobby they had a wonderful expresso machine that was free. Very nice perk! Staff all were very friendly and spoke English well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourlingueur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The Estherea is a great place for a romantic getaway. It is situated on the Singel canal right on the edge of the 9 Streets, a fantastic section of the canals full of stylish independent shops and cafes. But it's also easily accessible to Amsterdam's other attractions. The lobby and rooms are decorated in highly colourful fabrics and fittings that are just on the right side of quirky. Our room had a huge, very comfortable four-poster bed. There is a nice bar downstairs and free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits for guests. My only quibble would be that it felt quite expensive for the size of the room we had, though we did have a canal view. However, it was the least priceyof the boutique hotels in the area. Though not as well known as the Dylan or the Pulitzer, we would say it's a very good alternative to them if you want to stay on the canals.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Last weekend was the second weekend I and two of my friends stayed at Hotel Estherea. All three of us are travellers, but this hotel is one of our absolute favourites. If it were possible to give more than five points, we would - without any hesitation - give it at least seven ... The rooms are superb, the baroque design charming, the staff helpful and the breakfast excellent. We are already planning - and looking forward to - our next stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

First and foremost: The location of this hotel is fantastic, 15 minutes away from Amsterdam Centraal, in the heart of old amsterdam. Well within walking distance to most attractions, and the train which takes you directly to and from the airport and anyplace else in Holland you could want to go.
The rooms are clean and decent sized with small wall mounted flat panel TV's and nice bathrooms. Since it is an old building however, the floors, ceilings and walls are very thin and sometimes creaky so if your neighbors are loud, you may have some small issues.
The hotel has wifi, but it is not available to you unless you a) book through their website and join their "friends of estherea" group or b) pay 10 euros per day. To throw a twist into this scheme, they will allow you to check out an iPad (so long as they aren't all locked away in the safe which happens after 11pm) but not get your laptop on.

I almost never saw the same staff twice, and the night staff seemed less friendly and less trained then the day staff. Overall I can't complain too much, but if wifi had been free, they would've easily earned 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing