We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2013

what a gem! This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. It is very central, easy walking distance to anywhere in Amsterdam. Service was excellent and friendly. Hot drinks on tap at any time of the night or day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcoop132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,168 - 2,174 of 4,024 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

Really good place to stay, close to the center but very quiet at the same time.
Excellent staff and a free iPad to use for the duration of the stay!
Very clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend!
Thank you all at Hotel Estherea :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent 3 days at Estherea hotel and found it through internet. It was a pleasant surprise! We were very kindly extended an upgrade at time of check in, the staff is smiling and courteous, the hotel benefits of a greta location on the Singel canal. Located a few steps away from all attractions. The hotel is very clean, tough a bit outdated in terms of decor, it is well managed and you can tell the staff is happy : they are all very good professionals. The buffet breakfast offers more than you can eat and its service until 11.00 am is great! ; we will certainly return as we had a great time in a great city!

Room Tip: 514 is a great room - under the roof and overlooking the canal! rooms on higher floor seem quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serendipidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Hotel Esthera will definitely leave you with a great feeling for your trip in Amsterdam. Starting with reception area, very nicely decorated with many small areas, the beautiful bar, the whole experience is nice with spacious room (we got upgraded to Deluxe room with bathtub + shower), nice bedding, and this wonderful decoration. The room was well tidied-up every day. We didn't try breakfast which was too expensive (see tips for good advice). Location is superb with everything closeby. It only missed its 5 stars due to poor sound insulation (our room was on the backstreet, not the canal) which was unbelievable noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for Canal room, it is worth it and will avoid you the backstreet noise Broodje Bert (almost nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegastar330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I stayed t Hotel Estheria for two nights in January 2013. Aside from two minor complaints, we thought it was just right for us. The location is easy walking distance from many restaurants and about a 10 minute walk from the Old Town area. 15 or 20 minutes' walk will get you to the train station or the Rejksmuseum.

The hotel itself is beautifully appointed. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortably appointed and very attractive. It was very quiet too, even though it faced a somewhat buy street. The staff was extremely friendly nd helpful in all matters with which we needed help. Excellent staff.

The two complaints? Wi fi access is ten Euro per day, per device. I haven't paid for wi fi access at a hotel in any country for years. They did give me one free 24 usage for one device, but the server was so slow it was almost unusable. I don't like to be nickel and dimed for Wifi service. And I like it to work when I use it.

Complaint two, the towels seemed thin and skimpy.

That's it. Aside from those two things, we loved the hotel and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The perfect location for my perfect city. Clean hotel with friendly staff. Nice touch to have free coffee/tea and biscuits at reception. Comfortable public areas and rooms provide all you need. I would suggest paying for the best room you can as they only get better the more you pay. Would stay again and definitely recommend this hotel, and I'm a really fussy customer!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Had the pleasure of spending 3 nights here the beginning of January. There is a reason Conde Nast Traveler magazine named The Hotel Esthérea one of the 10 best hotels in Northern Europe. It felt like a home away from home. Only this home was a palace. The service, breakfasts, rooms, lounges, fish aquarium, all were better than imagined. I would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emeraldcitytaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,669 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,287 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £111 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing