We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice for a hotel in Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best choice for a hotel in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just returned from a three night break staying at the Estherea. Totally lived up to my expectations. Superb breakfasts, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds, well designed and decorated rooms, fridge for storing the Leonidas chocolates, coffee and tea on tap 24 hours a day, good central location, very good restaurants just 2 minutes away. Ticked all the boxes and we will be back...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,679
    950
    165
    45
    33
See reviews for
690
2,128
119
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Have stayed here a dozen times or so, but realised i never took time to write a review (truth is i guess we make the time to write about poor experiences!)
The hotel is a beautiful, fantastic location, stylish bedrooms decor, fantastic breakfast - and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A truly welcoming place that met all our needs ...and more! The staff was wonderful, at times anticipating our needs. The room was quite large for a European hotel and quiet at night. Location was ideal and the breakfast quite sufficient to get us on our way each day. We'll rebook when we return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KAS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford, ct
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is on the Singel Canal, near everything, and is so lovely. The very ornate, rich and romantic decoration, which I usually disdain, somehow works here. The reef tank is totally awesome. The area with the machine dispensing various hot drinks and a beautiful buffet table with cookies, cakes and candies is delightful. Don't bother to get a room with breakfast included, a la carte breakfast is reasonably priced, delicious and ample. The staff, especially the young man with the light brown hair, are go-getters, and go out of their way for you, with a wonderful sense of humor, and highly professional. Try to get a canal view room--it is so worth it. The toiletries were wonderful, and organic, and there is a wonderful plush feel to the place--it feels like your staying at your friend's rich uncle's mansion more than a hotel.

Room Tip: Canal rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito,CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I spent a long weekend at Hotel Estherea in early October. Such a charming and warm place with a staff to match. Everything was perfect. For my first visit I was in a room that overlooked the interior "courtyard", so no view, but very quiet. I loved my first stay so much that I changed plans and came back the following weekend. That time I had a very wonderful canal view room - quintessential Amsterdam. I will return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RJN_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes to make a short stay in REALLY Central Amsterdam 5 star. My only issue was that the towels were very small and in short supply ...... and also soap / cotton wool etc.
However, this hotel is a real gem, with friendly staff, delicious breakfast (book ahead to receive a discounted price), and complimentary tea,coffee, hot chocolate and pretty jars of sweet that kept my teenagers very happy! We all felt it was very good value for money and would recommend The Hotel Estherea without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had stayed in this hotel in 1986 and remembered its central location. We were a little surprised to find that it had changed since then with more rooms and re-vamped bar and restaurant area. It is still great! We asked for an upgrade to a canal view and were given 114 which is perfect looking out at the (temporarily closed) bridge.
Our only minor gripe is that the wifi (which is free when you book direct) was patchy in the room probably because of the thick walls in this old building.
Overall, a pleasant stay and we would like to thank all the staff who were invariably friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coulsdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
998 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,661 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
662 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing