We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic location and wonderful personnel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The famous spot “Dam Square” is walkable from this hotel. The hotel is also close to the tram station. Friendly staff and a peaceful ambience. If you have 20 minutes of your time, you can walk to the central station from the hotel. However, the breakfast was quite expensive and our family took it outside the hotel. The service was exceptional and it is a perfect hotel. The specialty of this hotel is that they offer free internet access with wifi. I have visited this hotel many times on business visits and I should say that this hotel has kept up its stellar reputation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaneTBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a great location, right in the centre of Amsterdam close to a tram stop, walking distance to Dam Square. So, it was such a shame that we had the smallest room I have ever seen with no natural light. The shower was in a cupboard and the toilet and basin were in another cupboard on the other side of the room! There was nowhere to place anything and even the wardrobe didn't have enough space to put our clothes (only for 2 nights). I think at 165 euros a night and 17 euros each for breakfast this was far too expensive for such a teeny weeny room. However, the staff were excellent, really friendly and helpful but sadly I don't think I would return unless we had a proper bedroom with a proper bathroom with doors!

Room Tip: Please ask for one of their largest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly staff. Easy walking distance to everything. We had 2 rooms on the second floor and both were beautifully decorated and very clean, my grown up children thought it was awesome. The facilities were excellent. A great experience, I would stay there again and recommend it highly. We thought breakfast was a little pricey, but many places nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I booked this hotel for two reaons: firstly, as always, the views of other Trip Advisor travellers, and secondly because of its location. Almost midway between the Central station and the Rijksmuseum, opposite the "Nine Streets", round the corner from Dam square and more shopping.What could be better! Throw in a beautifully decorated and comfortable hotel, friendly staff and an amazing breakfast, what's not to like?
Like another member, we had a view acrooss a small atrium and the room was dark, but in December it's pretty dark anyway and our room was there to rest and sleep in. With the building work going on in the canal I'm glad not to have a premium price bedroom overlooking it, plus rooms at the back overlooking Spuistraat would have traffic noise.
No, the noise we suffered one night was from a small child in the room above who cried, was comforted by his father walking up and down and then,very early in the morning, got up and ran around so much our chandelier shook. But old buildings don't have so much soundproofing- so with charm, you have a chance of noise.
Staff were always helpful - even negotiating a good rate for the taxi to the airport when we were running late,The library area was lovely to relax in with a (free) cup of coffee or hot chocolate after a tiring day. And the breakfast - well starting off with a Buck's Fizz was a great way to enjoy one's day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeGlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had a delightful stay at the Esthertéa and it would have been perfect had we had daylight in our room.
I had understood that we did not have a canal view, but that didn't really matter to us. What did matter was that we had no view at all and the room was plunged into permanent darkness, the only light we had was coming from a chandelier hanging in a 2m2 closed and covered "court yard". Our view was the bedroom opposite, two meters away! If we had our curtains open we were looking directly at the people opposite in bed!
It was a shame really and if I had known I would have paid the difference and taken a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of December and found The Estherea a lovely hotel. The attention to detail is excellent and it is meticulously maintained. The rooms are very comfortable with great bathrooms. The breakfast is very nice with a great selection. Probably the highlight is the gracious staff who are so accommodating. The location is very good with easy walks to the museums and right on a canal. there are several nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stay at The Esterea for 3 nights in December and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is very nice and is maintained to prefection. The staff is gracious and extremely helpful. The breakfast is everything one could desire. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ocrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £111 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing