We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and surprising place”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A charming and surprising place”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We booked this property through tripadvisor for a 3 day/2 night city break. The deal inlcuded a free upgrade to a deluxe room and was therefore great value. The property is unusual, charming and old worldly - we have not stayed in a similar property before. The reception area has an attached library and bar. There is free coffe/tea and flavored water in the lounge which makes up the absence of these facilities in the room (free bottled water is provided in the room).
The room was a a bit on the smaller side but never the less beautiful. We had a jacuzzi in our bathroom which was quite large. The service was highly efficient, friendly and understated. The breakfasts were nice with a varied choice (pre-booking at the time of reservation enables a 5 euro discount PP). Otherwise it costs 18 euros PP and you may prefer visiting one fo the numerous cafes/delis for your breakfast.
The hotel is situated in a beautiful location in Dam Square and is only about 20 minutes by walks from central station. All the major sights are within walking distances (taxis are expensive).
An unusual, charming and surprising hotel. Definitely worth considering when visiting Amsterdam

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanarath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,660
    945
    163
    44
    33
See reviews for
681
2,115
119
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

In the middle of Singel Canal, on the edge of the funky Nine Streets District, the Hotel Estherea could not be in a better spot for the short stay tourist. My wife, 13 year old son and I took a "triple" room at the back of the hotel, overlooking Spuistraat, which was great for access to plenty of restaurants. Staff were very helpful and pleasant -which was typical of just about everyone in Amsterdam - and the buffet breakfast was the best I've had in a long time. The room was very well decorated, although the bathroom, like most in Europe, was small but perfectly adequate for us, with a full sized bath included. You can find cheaper self-catered apartments close by outside the high season, but for some lovely touches and luxury, the Hotel Estherea had everything you'll need for a short trip in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay (23-27th of December) at this hotel. The ambience was very atmospheric with beautiful flower arrangements and tapestry. The free beverage facility at the bar area was certainly a bonus. We received a free room upgrade having booked directly with the hotel and stayed at no 217, a spacious cosy room with nice bathroom. The cleaning service was very good but they entered the room at 9 in the morning of Christmas Day when we were fast asleep - they did make their excuses and swiftly disappeared. Another evening we returned to find a window left wide open! The breakfast was scrumptious with great variety and at 18€ pp a good value, we thought. There is a La Pain Quotidien right behind the hotel, a great alternative venue for brunch .The canal side location is ideal and very central. The hotel encourages direct bookings; free room upgrade or other offer, free wi-fi, late check out at 14:00 and breakfast (served 7-11am) at 13€ pp when booked in advance. The staff was very helpful - the middle age gent at the reception not particularly smiley, though. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aikaterini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

i was staying at Estherea 2 nights.
The name is very elegant, as is hotel itself. It is not easy to find though, both tram stations are 5 minute walk. The atmosphere is gorgeous, no less. Carpets, flowers, fish, crystals, plants, and the room was luxurious. there was free tea and coffee in the lobby, simple selection, but nevertheless a pleasant bonus to overall experience.
the stairs and corridors were quite a labyrinth, but walking there was more like walking in a fairytale palace, and therefore i regret nothing. there is a small garden with plants and running water, and i could even see it from my room window.
there was no breakfast included in the room price, and though there are plenty of bakeries and cafes in Amstrdam, i would like to see what the hotel has to offer for breakfast...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evgeniia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed for a whirlwind couple of days and this hotel was ideally situated to make the best of our short time. Very beautiful building elegant and ornate furnishings. We had a canal view room and our only gripe was the very small bathroom, my parents in law had a room at the back but with a bigger bathroom, next time we go perhaps I would trade my canal view for a bigger bathroom, although the view was lovely we didn't spend long enough in the room to appreciate the extra cost!! Really quiet for the centre of a city which is a real plus. Free tea and coffee in the lobby 24/7 is really appreciated with free cakes in the afternoon, lovely. Bed was really comfy and staff really friendly, as everyone was. We didn't eat in but found lovely restaurants within a couple minutes walk. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for 4 nights from the 19th December and found the experience at Estherea faultless. The staff were always attentive, helpful and polite, the room extremely comfortable and there was a wholly relaxing and homely feel to the Hotel. The location could not be better (everything within walking distance including Centraal Station for trains to the Airport) - we would certainly recommend the Hotel and will return there if we return to Amsterdam. If we have a reservation it would be the cost at 810 euros for 4 nights including breakfast plus City Tax - all booked well in advance

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed 3 nights with a friend at the Hotel Estherea. We wanted to treat ourselves and we were not disappointed. The hotel is beautifully decorated, very ornate and it's a bit like stepping back in time but with all the mod cons. The staff were very helpful and polite. There is tea, coffee and biscuits free of charge available all day in the lobby with comfy seats in which to sit and bask in the surroundings. Mini fridge in the room was handy too. Beds were sooo comfortable and the bathroom was stunning. Free wi-fi in the lobby was handy for working out what to do the next day.We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food. Location wise it is a gem. Right on a canal and we found it to be pretty central for all that we wanted to see. Shopping areas, Anne Frank's house, the museums, tram routes etc. There is a good amount of restaurants on the street behind the hotel as well as many others in side streets on the opposite side of the canal. 3 mins from the tram stop and only 15mins walk from the train station. Fully recommend this hotel for a special, spoil yourself break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerStL90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,636 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing