We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Estherea
Nearby Hotels
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$177
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$232
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$294
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$240
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,171)
Filter reviews
4,171 results
Traveller rating
2,915
993
178
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,915
993
178
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalbeautiful hotelcanal view roomdam squarecomplimentary coffeewithin walking distancejacuzzi bathdeluxe roomnine streetsperfect locationlobby areapublic areasanne frank houseflower marketloved this hotellovely roomwalked everywhere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,922 - 1,927 of 4,171 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December and were extremely delighted with the hotel. Check in was quick, good and informative. The reception and bar/library areas are large and make it seem real "homey". Our room was large enough for us, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom facilities were plenty adequate. I liked that the windows could be opened to allow some fresh air inside. We did not have any problems with external noises at all.

Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the bar/reception area with cakes and slices at different times and gorgeous little bowls of boiled sweets (also in the room).
We didn't do breakfast here but there are many places within walking distance to do so.
The hotel is located in a fantastic location, close to everything.
The staff were always very friendly.
I would highly recommend this hotel as it has so much character and is clean, tidy and friendly.

They do not do airport transfers but if you ask they can organise a set price with a taxi, charge it to your room and give you a taxi voucher. We did this returning to the airport and it was so much cheaper than the taxi we got from the airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolMarie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here 21st-23rd December. It was just wonderful. We had a canal room with a four poster bed which was ready for us at 10.45am (perfect after a very early flight!). It's about a 15 minute walk from Centraal Station and overlooksthe Singel - so easy to find. It's very plush and luxurious and the staff were incredibly helpful and kind. even leaving us champagne and chocolates as it was our wedding anniversary. The bed was very comfortable indeed. During the day you could hear guests in the room above but there was no noise at night so we didn't mind and it wasn't an issue. The breakfast was fantastic and included prosecco which is a rather nice way to start the day! There were hams, cheese, fruit salad, eggs, bacon, sausage, cakes, pastries, juices, etc. Throughout the day the hotel provided free tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and cakes which was a lovely touch. It's very well placed - being out of the direct touristy bit but close enough to walk everywhere. It's very very close the nine streets which are beautiful. The nearest restaurant Haesje Claes was also fantastic and they also provide a room service for the hotel. Highly highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_BurnsBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our stay was for 9 nights and could not be more perfect!
The room was lovely. We had a view to a courtyard with a live green wall with beautiful moss growing on it. The staff were always attentive, eager to help and always greeted you with a lovely smile! We are planning to go back and spend our holidays next year at the Estherea!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for a two night and three day mini break. It was in a very good location for just about all you can see in Amsterdam, from shopping, the nine streets, canal boat trips and Dam square. On the main road you can get buses or trams to everywhere and the main train station is a good fifteen minute walk or two mins if you hop on a tram (loved them). Went to a diamond factory very interesting but still couldn't afford any !! Our room was just as other reviewers mention, comfortable and a bit fancy, I will have to try harder at home. Loved the tea and coffee in the lobby home from home. Enjoyed the locals sense of humour, found them to be very warm and friendly and will be coming back for a weekend as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bornintheukjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here after looking at various reviews. The reviews are right - this is a great place. Beautiful and comfortable rooms - really excellent decor, furniture, beds, bathroom. Reception, bar, and restaurant are also beautiful, breakfast was outstanding, and the location is fantastic. Walking distance to anything downtown and in old city, and on a very nice canal. It may be a bit expensive, but not really compared with other places in Amsterdam, and this is much nicer than a luxury hotel for the personal service and surroundings. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Main street-facing rooms could be loud, but windows block the sound.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhoopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews