We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful public space let down by room”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel was perfectly adequate. The public spaces were great - Beautifully and imaginatively decorated, if a little cold. I don't think I've ever been to a cold hotel before. However the room was minute. We could barely walk round the bed - the bathroom even smaller The room was cold and the disheartening view was of an ugly central "well" with scaffolding and lots of banging in the day. The staff were not particularly helpful or welcoming. This hotel is all about the decor ,smokes and mirrors, and with a good location in the old town.

Room Tip: The only rooms must be those looking over the canal
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,956)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Estherea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,731 - 1,737 of 3,956 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Small family (2 adults + 7 y/o) - stayed 4 nights

Although we didn't have a canal view room we were very happy with our beautiful large room with a real bed for our daughter.

Thanks to friendly & helpful staff we were able to go to our room within 45 minutes of arriving which was 9am - a god send after a 30 hour journey.

Everything within walking distance or could take the Tram, a 2 minute walk from the Hotel.

Breakfast was huge with lots of variety. Or there is a fantastic Bakery & Coffee Shop on the Street at the back of the Hotel.

Although we knew there was no wifi in the rooms, & thought we could cope, after a couple of days it did start to annoy us. This is the only reason I'm not giving an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illythecuddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We have just had the pleasure of spending two nights here for my boyfriends 40th Birthday.

The location is 5 minutes walk from Dam square and on the canal surrounded by beautiful shops, cafés and local attractions.

The staff are helpful and we were surprised and delighted to find proscecco awaiting us on arrival with a little note saying happy birthday!

Can't fault this hotel in any way - a little spot of luxury in a ideal location for a very reasonable price.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent three nights in this beautiful hotel on the Singel canal.The hotel is situated just across the bridge from the famous 9 Streets district where there are many quirky little shops selling vintage clothes, antiques, great restaurants and cafés and from where you can walk to any where in Amsterdam.
Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished with a sofa and a large queen bed. The bathroom was a tad small but there was a bath .The views of the canal are beautiful so when you book, if you are able to make sure you pay a little more for a room with a view over the beautiful canal and neighbouring street.
One of the loveliest touches and greatly appreciated by us was the free tea or coffee available in the foyer with cakes, pastries or cookies supplied. very welcome after a long day walking across the city. WIFI was free and the living areas are a pleasant place to sit and get warm after a freezing Amsterdam day. Staff were very warm and welcoming.
The hotel is very close to many of the main attractions of Amsterdam. You can catch trams from the nearby Spui area but we preferred to walk as there were so may lovely hidden surprises along the way. A great experience .

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a canal view Our room was room 410.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Top customer service from this centrally located hotel. Centrally located and overlooking Singel canal. Close to flower market and Rembrandtsplein. Very comfortable rooms . Great breakfast. Parking available. Excellent value. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alansolicitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Everything happened as almost was expected. Very attentive and helpful staff, clean and nice rooms and recreations, good enough breakfast. The room sizes are surprizingly smaller even than being expected but this is understandible due to top location right in the center of old town. Sincere thanks to all staff for a pleasant staying! Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We liked the Hotel Estherea very much. It is well run, the breakfasts are very good, it is beautifully decorated and is within walking distance of everything. We had room 207 which although small had a lovely view of the canal and two easy chairs from which to admire it or for reading.

Our only gripes were that there was no good reading light near the easy chairs and also the walls are very thin, so as one of the occupants of room 206 next door had a loud voice, this was rather a nuisance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
751 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £153 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing