We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful botique hotel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A bit upscale, a bit nostalgic, a bit luxury. Three nights. We paid for the breakfast service and it was one of the best breakfast buffets we have ever encountered. We stayed in an attic room on the back side of the hotel. Room even had the hoist beam in the ceiling, a feature of the old row houses. Thought it was quiet. Large tile bathroom, all very clean. A well run hotel. They did over charge us when we checked out. 20-30E or so.

Room Tip: Not a lot of auto traffic after hours in that neighborhood, so any should be fine for most folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SrTraveler662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,751 - 1,757 of 3,983 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently had a business trip to Amsterdam and booked into Hotel Esthera. Firstly the location is fantastic! Very central and easy to get to from Centraal Station. The rooms are spacious, well maintained and value for money. Staff are helpful and overall i really enjoyed my stay. The free coffee to go/take away is brilliant when walking to clients or sightseeing. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA_Business_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you are looking for a charming hotel that takes you back in time to another era, look no further than here. Behind a deceptive facade, the decor is colorful and warm. Upon entering, you are welcomed by a beautiful salt water fish tank, and a friendly and helpful staff. There is 24 hour self service coffee, which was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were a little small, but the hotel location more than makes up for that. Besides, with all there is to do and see, you shouldn't be hanging out in the room. We definitely plan to stay here again when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had booked this Hotel for my partners 40th Birthday, for a three night stay from a Thursday night to a Saturday. We had spent a lot of hours looking & researching for our accommodation in Amsterdam. The Estherea kept coming up as first choice, and after staying here it would be our first choice again ! The staff are so friendly & helpful. The room was divine, lavish bedding & decor and the view over looking the canal was a delight. After we had checked in and unpacked, we went for a walk & upon arrival back at our room we had a lovely box of chocolates and birthday note from Hotel ! This little gesture meant a lot to my partner, she was overjoyed. The whole stay was a delight. The bed was so comfortable and after late night out in Amsterdam was much needed. The room, day & night was quiet, we heard nothing from rooms above or below & to the left or right. The bathroom facilities were superb, nice hand towels, face towels, bath towels and lavish toiletries. The room was perfectly cleaned after we had left the hotel for our days out. I cannot find any reason to fault this hotel !!! LOVE THIS HOTEL !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Loved the free 24 hr tea/ coffee bar, the great location, the reception staff and the fact that they were very helpful with my gluten free breakfast. Rooms are beautifully furnished, especially the library and lounge areas. We stayed 5 nights and would book again, and we are fussy. Ask staff for room tips.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wicoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel was perfectly adequate. The public spaces were great - Beautifully and imaginatively decorated, if a little cold. I don't think I've ever been to a cold hotel before. However the room was minute. We could barely walk round the bed - the bathroom even smaller The room was cold and the disheartening view was of an ugly central "well" with scaffolding and lots of banging in the day. The staff were not particularly helpful or welcoming. This hotel is all about the decor ,smokes and mirrors, and with a good location in the old town.

Room Tip: The only rooms must be those looking over the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,636 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,131 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,228 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £152 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing