We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and cosy”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #21 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A place with a boutique hotel feel, where you feel right at home. Wonderful staff with a gorgeous breakfast. The all day free delicious cookies and treats along with the cappuccino is a small thing that goes a long way. It's only 20 minutes walking distance from any of the major attractions in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoSobral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,840 - 1,846 of 4,108 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We are only back from Amsterdam and we stayed in the Estherea Hotel. We absolutely loved this hotel.

The hotel was Three stops away from central station on the number 2 or 5 tram line. It was so easy to find. It was very central with it being just a little walk around the corner from Dam square.

The hotel looks out onto the canal and even though our room was not a canal view it didn't matter our room was still lovely. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were greeted by the brilliant staff at the reception who took our bags up to our rooms. Oh the beds were so comfortable better than my own bed at home and the pillows were so soft. There was no noise at all. The rooms are very comfortable indeed.
The lobbie was big and spacious with great decor, a lovely place to relax looking at the big fish tank.

This hotel had great little treats for the guests, with complementary tea, coffee or hot chocolate to help yourself with at any time,the machine was just behind the reception desk. Sweet jars for the children . Flavored water to drink and cookies for your coffee. It was such a treat as i have never seen this in any other hotel.

We didn't have breakfast as it was €18 each but we heard it was great.
The bar was also well priced and you could order a little bar food there too if need be.


Over all we loved this hotel and we would definitely go back to the same hotel. I cannot recommend it enough.
Thank you to all the staff they are truly hand picked as they were all great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hairbyraina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was quite a bit more expensive than the other one I stayed in. It was however very spacious, quiet and in a great location. The room was very large (by European standards) with very colourful decor. The hotel also has a lift so no issues with heavy luggage or getting up and down Dutch staircases!

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was not included so we chose to go out and explore instead, there were plenty of places nearby to eat.

Fantastic location and if you are happy to pay that little bit more you will still get good value.

Thank you Hotel Estherea!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beentheredonethatTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I chose Estherea for overnight stay due to its good reviews and location. Unfortunately only later was true: the location is great - in the middle of Old Town and very close to train station.
The single room I've reserved was however disappointment:
- very small,
- the heater was closed so it was cold
- the window was facing into the chimney-like opening in the roof with with view on three very close walls and roof at window level
- there was no drinking water or tea/coffee facilities in the room
- in the morning there was no cold water (!) so I had to take very hot shower

Sorry, but I'll not be coming back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed third time in Estherea, and will come again. Only points with"very good" a room size- this is small and noise from street onSunday night. Overall I am very satisfied.

I like the possibility to have cafe all the day and some small benefits - late check out, bottle of Prosecco...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mihkel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I had previsously visited AMS the week before and stayed and the Room Mate Aitana, whose location was a bit off but the rooms were very spacious.

Estherea is the opposite: excellent location with very small rooms. I stayed at a room with a queen bed, which is supposed to accommodate 2 people. I was lucky I was alone. Had I been traveling with my spouse, we would have had problems. There was not enough room to open my bad and my hand luggage.

Another problem I had was with the wifi. Even though I was on vacation, I had to deal with problems at work which demanded high speed internet. Unfortunately, it seemed we were still in the early 2000's when it came to speed.

So, even though the hotel is at an excellent spot in the city and it is beautifully decorated, I would recommend a larger room, which means more money. And for more money, there are better hotels.

Room Tip: Pay more for a larger room. The regular ones are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macktheknifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a really wonderful stay here. The staff could not do enough for us, even though our set of reservations was a bit complicated, answering all our questions, moving us as needed, so that our rooms could be close to each other, as well as meeting our needs in so many other ways. The rooms are rally beautiful, comfortable beds, sizable bathrooms with nice bath products…overall a terrific hotel---and we travel quite a bit.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a nice view even if they are not overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,248 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,723 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
568 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,888 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £145 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing