We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lobby was beautiful and comfortable. Loved that there were complimentary pastries, chocolate, tea, cappuccino, etc. available most times of the day. Just what was needed after a long day of walking. Beds were comfortable and clean. Location had easy access to restaurants and museums. Easy to find. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are able to pay more get an outside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyhead319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,637
    943
    161
    42
    33
See reviews for
675
2,100
119
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived at the the hotel for a two day break, the staff were young, helpful, and extremely polite.The hotel, although not cheap, was perfectly placed for a very short stroll in the city centre, the rooms were small but very well equipped, and very clean and warm.Breakfast was a bit pricey,18 Euros for a continental breakfast, but we couldn't be bothered to wak 100 meteres to go elsewhere, so serves us right!

The best thing we did while we were there was hire the hotel bikes, we are both in our 50's but found cycling around the city not only great fun, but also so easy, just ring your bell and everyone moves out the way!!!

We had a lovely time, the hotel was perfect and I would highly recommend it !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHolt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely room, unfortunately my boyfriend and weren't given a double bed but two single beds put together. Perfect location, beautiful bar, beautiful hotel, I can happily recommend this place to stay. All the little details are wonderful and the l'octaine soap, shampoo shower gel is just a lovely touch. Polite and friendly staff, very professional. Would have gotten five stars if we had a double bed with a room with a better view

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmaemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for one night only and it was the perfect ending to our 10 days Europe trip. Our stay was extremely comfortable and we really wished we could extend our stay for a few more days but sadly, we were short on time.

The staff was amazing and especially the Hotel Manager was really helpful. He upgraded us to their top suite and it was the most grand suite, I have stayed in so far. You definitely feel like royalty in there.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Hardly 10 minutes walk from the Central station and in walking distance to many local attractions. The breakfast is great value for money as well.

We are planing another trip to Europe in May and this time around, we have full plans of staying longer at this hotel and enjoy Amsterdam even more than last time. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe room on the top floor, which was spacious and quiet and the only room with a balcony apparently. Lovely bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Each member of staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The lounge and bar areas are beautifully decorated and it was lovely to stay somewhere not going for the 'Travelodge' type of decor! The location was ideal being close to the centre if you want typical shopping and the Dam Square but also on the edge of the 9 streets in the Jordaan area if you prefer the canals and smaller independent shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Room 519 - deluxe room on the top floor was spacious and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Location, staff and breakfast are fine. Room was clean but so little and dark. In the morning it was impossible to know what is the weather like , we could not see anything. 4 stars is 1 star too much

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anneli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbourough
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotels attention to detail is excellent. Every amenity you can imagine and the staff is extremely helpful and courteous. I felt that this hotel was the best out of all the hotels we stayed in along our trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing