We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #21 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was a great hotel and we enjoyed our time there. The room was large for most European hotel rooms and the staff were very friendly. We were travelling with a baby and babycot etc was organised for us. The lobby and bar are also very beautiful. Within easy walking distance of all the major sites. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,699 of 4,074 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Truly enjoyed the hotel. Apparently if you book for 3 nights you receive free canal cruise tickets -we found this out after spending $40. When asked for a credit towards our room the hotel responded "you need to ask for the free gift we don't just give it out". So mind reading is not my forte but overall a charming lovely hotel with a great breakfast. TIP make your reservation directly with hotel-breakfast is 5 euros cheaper this way

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When booking from Australia we looked on the internet for a hotel that would provide us with an authentic Dutch experience while in Amsterdam. We were absolutely delighted with the Estherea Hotel. It gave us just the experience we were hoping for. Apart from the very attractive, welcoming, cosy atmosphere in the hotel the location was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. It was tulip time while we were there and we delighted in the buckets of fresh tulips that hung from the balcony railings while we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights, had a great experience. Very comfortable room and common areas. Great coffee machine. Excellent breakfast. Location makes it walkable to Dam Square, Jordaan district, Anne Frank house, flower market. Central station a little further but we walked it. Close to tram to Museum district. Wonderful room (with whirlpool tub), amenities, and staff. Bought tickets for Rijksmuseum there, had no wait at the museum itself. I have only one complaint, I wish the staff knew more about the Tours that they sell. They told us the wrong time to meet our tour, and we nearly missed it (a canal cruise).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Very special and nice hotel with a good location. Excellent personalized service. Unique decoration of the lobby and common rooms with great flower arrangements. Nice comfortable bedding. The self-service area with coffee and tea and some bakery was an excellent extra.

Thank PBGUATE
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Delightful 5-story inn located in attached late 1600's renovated buildings with elevators on the Singel canal. Charming room and quiet block, yet walking distance to everything you could want. Staff is excellent and helpful. A smart value. We'll be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I booked two rooms at the Hotel Estherea based upon the reviews from other members of Trip Advisor. My family and I were not disappointed. The rooms are very well appointed, the service is excellent, the lobby is warm and inviting and the hotel bar is cozy and friendly. The hotel is situated in a great location for walking this beautiful city. When I return to Amsterdam I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 375 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £108 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing