We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam, WAW!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sint-genesius-rode
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam, WAW!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very charming hotel on very good location in max. 20' walk from everything. Very comfortable hotel, friendly and attentive service, wonderful breakfast an good bar! Very good advice in restaurants (indonesian, tapas, italian)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,582
    921
    159
    41
    32
See reviews for
653
2,064
116
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights of beautiful weather in May. Our room overlooked the canal and was roomy and comfortable. During the afternoon, we kept the curtains pulled to deter the warm sun, but we could open the windows at night for fresh, cool air.

The breakfasts were nice, with lots of fruit. There were also several bakeries close by for a less expensive morning meal.

The location was excellent, being an easy walk to the city center, and walking distance from many other sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here last year, in early December, and rated it highly. Particularly helpful staff who have created a warm and welcoming atmosphere. A great deal if thought has been taken to ensure that guests are made to feel at home, and no request is too small. Interesting little shops and restaurants in the immediate area.

The rooms aren't huge, but well planned and equipped; each is individually decorated. We overlooked the canal, and it was quiet and peaceful. The hotel is very well placed for sightseeing, and the trams make light work of getting around what is essentially a small city centre.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Estherea for two days in April, and I wish we could have stayed longer. It's a lovely boutique hotel, in a great location (walking distance to everywhere in the old part of the city), with a friendly staff. For the size of the hotel, the amenities are terrific. They have a wonderful coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine in the lobby that is available around the clock. They put out cookies in the afternoon and they have a bar/small restaurant open in the evenings. As another guest commented, the drink prices are quite reasonable compared to bars in the area. Our room was unique, as one would expect in such an old establishment, but nicely renovated. It was great to stay in a place that felt authentically Dutch. My 11 year old daughter loved the hot chocolate and the fish tank in the lobby. The fresh flowers were beautiful and the decor was beautiful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTooTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights at Hotel Estherea and the hotel was excellent. It was really well placed to see all the main sights in Amsterdam and the staff were so friendly. The breakfast each morning was amazing and I have never seen such an array of food. The complimentary tea and coffee, cakes and sweets in reception were also a really nice touch.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe classic room which over looked the street and this was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we wanted it to be a good one. For our budget the choice was between the NH Grand Krasnapolsky or the Estherea. On Trip Adviser, the Estherea had a higher rating from more reviewers so this was the deciding factor. I must say that I am so glad we made this decision.

The Estherea is in a much quieter and relaxed part of Amsterdam - only a 3 minute walk to the main square - and has a much more relaxed feel about it.

The staff are most welcoming and friendly and they also provide you the use of an i-pad and free wi-fi for the duration of your stay.

Also if you book directly with the hotel instead of going through another website, you get a complimentary bottle of Prosecco if you book for three nights.

The rooms and decor are beautifully furnished and there are free pastries and coffee facilities in the lobby for all guests.

Another nice touch is that the check out is at 2pm.

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Its is well worth a visit.

We would just like to say thank you to all of the staff there. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stariski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We entered the hotel after our long plane trip and were warmly welcomed by the staff and a lovely coffee and tea bar! Our lovely canalside room was exceptional with beautiful decor! Our four night stay was highlighted by the gracious staff, accommodating bartender(great cocktails) and delightful parlors and breakfast room. Thank you so much..... We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing