We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine location and view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine location and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Hotel Estherea is situated on a lovely canal in a fine neighborhood within an easy walk of some of the best shops, museums, and restaurants in the city. The room itself was well furnished and the king-size bed, unusual for Europe, was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was fit for royalty. Most of the staff were friendly, fluent in multiple languages, and helpful, although one staff person (Mr. Singh) was rude to the point of being hostile. D. Jenkins, June, 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,579
    921
    159
    41
    32
See reviews for
652
2,062
116
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saanichton Bc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Highly recommend. Attentive staff made out stay a pleasure. Excellent breakfast and service. Rooms vary in size so state your expectations accordingly to ensure satisfaction in that regard.
Among the best

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in April. It is exquisitely decorated in period furnishings. The breakfasts were the best we had in Europe - it was all downhill at our next two hotels in Paris and London. Everything was fresh and delicious, with a tremendous selection. As a gluten-free person, I was particularly accommodated, although I would have loved to taste the many pastries.The staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in response to all of our requests. When I thanked the front desk manager for the excellent service, he said that they really prized the interaction between guests and staff. The only downside for us was that we had a very small room with no bureaus in which to stow the stuff that we had brought for our almost 3-week vacation. The bathroom did have 2 sinks, however. Next time, I would definitely ask for a larger room, one with a canal view if possible. However, our room was very quiet and we had no street noise whatsoever.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I went traveling with my family and another family that we are friends with. We started out our European trip in Amsterdam staying in this hotel. I was the one who chose the hotel for the group and I got really lucky choosing such a fantastic place! I was worried that I had chosen something that would be a flop as if you tried to find this hotel on other sites, it wasn't very easy. First tip, BOOK THROUGH THE HOTEL WEBSITE! They offer deals if you book through them, and we received a free canal cruise! When you get to the hotel, it's actually bigger than what others make it to seem, and boy is it beautiful! They have small elevators but there are two of them. Make use of the free expresso machine. It rained almost the whole time we were there, so the free hot chocolates were perfect. The rooms are a bit small, which is to be expected, however so charming. Plus you're in Amsterdam, you're not supposed to spend your time in the room! My parents ate at the bar and said the food was good, nothing special, BUT if you get down to the lobby in the afternoon/night time there are yummy treats waiting for you by the expresso machine. We also emailed them quite frequently with questions, so much so that I felt like we were being an annoyance, but they responded quickly and never failed to answer our questions and calm our concerns. I can't stress enough how much I enjoyed the hotel, but I can say that I will recommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam, and if I ever get the chance to go again, I will be staying at Hotel Estherea!

Room Tip: Book through the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Estherea from 6 to 9 juni 2014, and will defenetly be back! This hotell had everything we are looking for. Great location, quiet, but near the great shops and cafe`s. Big and luxurious rooms (we had a delux room), a balcony, and the best breakfast ever!! And a very serviceminded staff. Thank you all for a great stay:-) Elisabeth and Rolf

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We started our European vacation with 4 days at this Beautiful Boutique Hotel and were very glad we did. The hotel is on a quiet canal (some nights not) and the interior lived up to the website pictures. We loved the 24 hour expresso/coffee/hot chocolate machine in the lobby area. we also used the 2 computers in the lounge to print our boarding passes for our flight out. we had 2 rooms. one for my wife and I and one for my daughters. my daughters had an interior room and their bathroom was actually quite larger than our canal room and much quieter than our room as late party revelers made noise passing by and woke us up so we had to close our windows. my point is if all you want to do is sleep then an interior room is the way to go but if you want and have time to spend in the room and a canal view is what you want those rooms can be noisier. We had read previous posts about having to leave your room keys with the front desk when you left and can confirm that there is no formal requesting of ID when you return and ask for your room key which is a suggestion for improvement. We did not take any meals in the restaurant or drinks at the bar (should have ordered the drink). There are complimentary umbrellas in the front lobby which was a nice touch. We were VERY IMPRESSED with this hotel and will highly recommend it. We loved Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

People at hotel great, very helpful, nice and competent. Rooms great. Location great. All in all a wonderful hotel to stay at when visiting Amsterdam and surrounding areas. Our first time there, but worth coming back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing