We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Truly enjoyed our stay! Our room was lovely! The details of the furniture and upholstery were aesthetically gorgeous! The staff, on the whole, was both professional and friendly. We stayed 3 in a room, and that worked well with the additional bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Connie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 4,027 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Such a quaint place to stay in Amsterdam!!! I would definitely stay here again!!! The rooms are all different but each is gorgeously decorated with beautiful fabrics, chandeliers, and gorgeous furnishings and pillows. It feels like a beautiful home rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank grksher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel was perfectly located against a beautiful canal. Splurge for a canal view room, it's worth it. The lobby is charming, with an amazing fish tank, a cozy/trendy little bar and some nice sitting areas. There are free coffee drinks in the lobby and cookies in the afternoon. The staff was very professional and friendly and quite helpful. The rooms were large and elegant, each one decorated differently. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zoowabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We accompanied a group of 20 Canadians to Amsterdam . We chose to stay at the beautiful Hotel Estherea set along the Singel Canal in the centre of Amsterdam, only 300 metres from the popular Royal Palace at Dam Square. We could not have chosen a better hotel. The luxurious hotel offers all the amenities that one would want including free WIFI, a sumptuous and extensive buffet breakfast, 24 hour tea, coffee, cold drinks and pastries.
With everything being "top notch", add to this one of the most friendly and cordial staff that we have ever seen. From the moment we arrived and met Suzie and the other incredible staff at the front desk, we were treated royally by everyone. The whole staff is superb . Congratulations!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Estherea. The hotel décor is beautiful and the staff super nice and accommodating. We had a canal room (212) which was on the small side but nicely appointed. The bathroom was small as well but I managed just fine... I also got a wonderful tour of the other rooms of the hotel and think I'd opt for one of the newer rooms with a separate shower next time! We didn't spend all that much time in the room so I'd rather have a larger room/bathroom than a view of the canal. 24 hr coffe/tea in lobby was a nice touch, especially for my coffee drinking husband! And the buffet breakfast was delicious! Definitely worth the small extra price. Overall, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The decor and facilities are excellent. Nice touches included the availability of tea, coffee, pastries and refreshing cold drinks all day. Beautiful marine aquarium in the lounge area made it a lovely place to sit and rest after a busy day. It made our stay in Amsterdam particularly enjoyable. It would definitely be our hotel of choice again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed at the lovely Hotel Estherea this past April, and I (and my family) absolutely adored this hotel! Charming doesn't begin to describe it, the staff couldn't have been friendlier, and the rooms are impeccably decorated, each with its own unique motif (the only caveat here is that like most European hotels, the rooms are on the small side). The hotel was spotless, the common areas were beautiful, and the free hot drinks and cookies/cake added a nice touch. All this with a really good location, close to everything but still manages to be quiet and peaceful. Don't look anywhere else, this is the best if you are looking for a well-situated, delightful and well appointed hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gildor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £124 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing