We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location as it has a quick access to dam square, Anne frank huis, Van Gogh museums and all over museums and all the shopping quarters the hotel itself is very chic and decorated to a high standard, the rooms are very clean and spacious with all amenities you would expected, the lounge/lobby area is very nice and staff are very friendly and willing to help.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,634
    942
    161
    42
    33
See reviews for
675
2,097
119
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We loved this smaller hotel from the helpfulness of the front desk staff to the bartender and other staffers. It's centrally and well located to walking everywhere. It faces onto a lovely canal. The rooms are well appointed and decorated. The gym, while a bit small, it quite good for a hotel of this size.

My only issue (and it's a small one) is that guests really only seem to have access to one small elevator. Several times I walked down five flights of stairs (once I walked up) because the wait for the elevator was too long. I wouldn't let that stop me from staying at this hotel again.

By the way, two doors down to the left if you're looking out front of hotel is the office for a GREAT canal tour company. Classic-style boat and fantastically detailed information from the charming captain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coombabah
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fantastic location. Our room was stunning the hotel is unique. The decor and staff exemplary. We used the bikes during our stay which was a nice addition.I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something out of the ordinary but if modern/contemporary hotels are your thing this is not for you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wv
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Okay, not just Amsterdam, this is simply one of the nicest hotels in Europe/North America. Staff are professional, rooms are gorgeous, breakfast is to die for, and the setting is ideal. A fifteen minute walk from Central Station, situated on a beautiful canal, and within walking distance of all the sights, the Estherea is a gem. Join the "friends" via the website and breakfast is included--you dont want to miss breakfast!

Room Tip: Inner courtyard are less expensive and super quiet, canal side have views to kill for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worshiguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We went back to the Hotel Estherea because of our great experience there 4 years ago. It's the most charming, lovely hotel, perfectly situated on the Singel Canal, near all of the major sights in Amsterdam, but quiet. The public areas and rooms are beautifully decorated and the service excellent. I can't imagine a better place for a romantic holiday in one of our favorite cities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal are best, but for our last visit they were taken -- still had a lovely, spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alandynner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked into this place based on its Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. The hotel itself is beautiful. Some might think its a bit OTT, but we thought it was charming. They keep it in such good condition. The common areas were great, with a few rooms you could hang out in, read the paper, or watch some TV. We had a drink in the bar a couple of nights too. The rooms are also lovely. We went for one of the smaller rooms, and found it perfect for our needs. It was very comfortable, and even the little touches were much appreciated. They give you an iPad for use during your stay, along with free internet. You also get a couple of waters which are replenished daily. We had some lollies in our room too. The L'occitane toiletries were really nice too. The bed was very comfortable and the maid did a good job with the daily cleaning too.

The staff were amazing. They were very patient, friendly, and helpful, even with some of the more demanding guests which we observed on quite a few occasions. They really do go above and beyond, while staying professional but still friendly. They are more than happy to help you book your canal cruise or other tours, as well as a taxi to the airport. The staff really should be praised for their work. The hotel also have other nice touches, such as free tea and coffee, as well as baked goods available most the time. A couple of nights we got back late, and there were no more, but I suspect it's more to do with the other guests taking more than they should. The location itself is great too. The neighbourhood is nice, and we found it to be quite centrally located. While it's definitely a more romantic place, there were also many families there. It's a wonderful place all around. Thank you for everything! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, as some can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely boutique hotel, close to restaurants, shops and Dam Square. Staff very helpful and attentive. Free coffee, hot choc etc. any time in the lobby. Great room and comfy bed, unfortunately we only had a street view and no wi-fi at the time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing