We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely atmosphere, lovely staff - location !”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location, quiet st. - short walk from the DAM and shopping center . Public transportation is also a short walk away. Small cafes serving breakfast are really close to the hotel, which will save you the cost of breakfast.
The atmosphere is very homely and warm, the staff as well .
The first night (we arrived quite late) we really did not like the small room we get - narrow, little closet, and not enough place to put two suitcases. the bathroom was small.
In the morning I went to reception and luckily there was a lovely lady named Susan. Susan showed me three other rooms each turned in a different direction and gave me the option to choose one of them.
The room we got was more spacious with a large bath and large closet, furnished like in the picture, so we had a homely feel.
In general, there are rooms that are more inviting than the others.
I suggest to anyone who orders a room make sure that you really gets the room as promised.
The idea of coffee, tea and water throughout the day and free of charge outstanding.
Thanks to all the charming staff, especially Susan that helped me with some excellent suggestions.

Room Tip: Spacious room with an open window towards the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y0y020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a great boutique hotel. It's right on the Singel Canal in a good city location. We were able to walk everywhere. The staff was friendly and courteous. It has a beautiful lobby and cute dining room for breakfast. We will definitely stay here again, when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the canal give a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jldfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recently went on a short break with my husband to Amsterdam and we booked this hotel. We couldn't have chosen better. Perfect location, near to Dam Square yet peaceful and in walking distance of most of the museums/sites. The room was very comfortable, well furnished, complete with L'Occitaine toiletries in the bathroom.

The breakfast was very good with a lot of choice and a lovely room to sit in. Tea & coffee & cold drinks were available all day in the hotel at no extra charge.

If you are looking for a good base to stay in Amsterdam I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marigoldSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. It was as per the positive comments.

Very lovely hotel, good location, friendly staffs.....the decor inside this hotel is classically beautiful. The huge chandelliars, wallpaper...the whole setting was just simply elegant. The choice of colours in the rooms as well...we just love it!!!

Our rooms was rather small and faced the back lane which was rather noisy at night but we were able to sleep. Bathroom had all the toilettries needed. The staffs were helpful with the wifi connection, arrangement of canal tour, and direction guidance. The I-pad was useful. They even booked the taxi next morning to transfer us to the central station.

Breakfast was ok...not much variety but is sufficient and was good in taste.

The location facing the canal is a plus point staying in this hotel. Short walks to places of interest.

We loved our stay here....beautiful Estherea.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank LOGESHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is in a excellent location with close proximity & /walking distance to most of the sight seeing locations.The localtion is in a +/- 5 minutes walking distance to public transport like Tram and bus stops. It is bit overpriced and rooms are small compared to Asian standards ( from a traveller from Asia's perspective). Staff in the hotel are quite friendly and helpful in responding to request.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vinayakbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Charming hotel, lovely room, rather small bathroom with louvre half door - odd. Hair dryer operated on low speed only. Zillion pillows on the bed. Lovely but impractical. Expensive for the value.

Front desk staff was not that helpful with our non-tour request. Could not offer specifics about public transportation or schedules. Wanted to find our OWN way to Keukenhof (not a package tour) and to flower auction and only one front desk person (Marteen) really was helpful. One man was even condescending, handed us brochures and told us to take a tour and not to travel on our own. They may be knowledgeable about tours but not customizing for our needs.

Good restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank softautumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice hotel located along the canals (Single area). Close to shops and living area.
The employee are very nice and helpful.
Area maps have been replaced by iPads with a local App.

I'm going back in the same hotel in October.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,492 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £111 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing