We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just got back from a three night stay at this hotel and it was excellent. Every thing about this hotel is good.There are a lot of hotels that are cheaper than this one but you get what you pay for and it is worth the extra money.close to all the tourist attractions.Room very clean bed very comfy staff were friendly.I can find faults with most hotels but not here.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the front are more expensive but are worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,498 - 1,504 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel made our stay. We had several rooms and I really enjoyed our lovely room overlooking the Singel Canal. Even though the street was below, it was very quiet. The room was well appointed, although the bathroom was a bit small. The lobby had a charming little bar and there are little complimentary treats in the lobby for guests. I frequently enjoyed the expresso machine.The breakfast room is quaint and the food is good. The front desk staff were attentive and friendly. Every dinner recommendation was excellent. Everything is within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I've just got back from this hotel, stayed for three nights. This hotel is in a nice location in a lovely area of Amsterdam but within walking distance to most of the sites. Good transport links with the tram network. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station but a tram would take 5 mins. There are lots of restaurants, bars and cafés nearby.
The hotel it's self is beautifully decorated, the rooms and bathrooms are lovely. The free hot and cold drinks in the lobby with sweet treats too was a big bonus. The staff were very friendly, although we did sit at the bar for quite a while and no one came to serve us one evening.
We stayed in a standard room which was still lovely. High quality toiletries were provided. The shower was separate to the toilet and basin, the shower itself very good. The bed was amazing.
I honestly have no complaints.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KJB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a really positive experience at Hotel Estherea recently. The hotel itself is in a great location, just off of one of the canals in the heart of the city. It's probably an 8 minute walk from the train station and it's within a very short walk of many great restaurants, not to mention very close to the Anne Frank house. As far as the hotel goes, it is really beautiful. The decor is a bit over the top, but I did appreciate that. It's very old-style swanky and glamorous. I could see how some may not enjoy the decor, though. The lobby is really open and there is a fun bar that seemed to be open quite a lot. The hotel serves breakfast and the bar offers a few snacks, but they don't do a dinner service. A couple fun perks about the hotel are that they have a free coffee machine down in the lobby for you to get your espresso jolt any time you need one, and they also loan you an iPad to use during your stay. Pretty neat! Our room was very cozy and comfortable. The bathrooms were very strange, but kept us amused. We felt like we were taking a shower in a closet - truly, I think we were, and then there was another "closet" with the toilet and sink. Gotta make use of the space somehow! The closet shower was VERY nice - it had heated tile floors and was very large with really nice shampoos and soaps. We appreciated the kind, sincere service we received at the hotel, as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful ambiance, location and staff. The hotel's public areas are classically decorated and a pleasure to be in. Our only complaint was high price (18 euros) for buffet breakfast and awkward bar arrangement for al la carte breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our second visit to Estherea, and it was even better than we remembered. The location is ideal, being within easy walking distance of Dam Square, and other Amsterdam attractions, so perfect for a city break. The bedrooms are not large, but are beautifully decorated and have quality fittings. The breakfast is very good with an excellent choice of hot and cold items, and is served in a beautiful dining room. Staff throughout the hotel are excellent. The hotel falls easily into the category of "hidden gems" and with the level of décor and all round ambience it is certainly worthy of another reviewer's description as Perfection!

Room Tip: It may be worth having a room overlooking the Singel canal, but I believe no room will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our way home from Africa to the USA. It was decorated in such a way you either love it or hate it. I think it is cozy looking. I loved the coffee in the lobby and the comfortable seating to sit and relax in the lobby also. The rooms were very small. We did not face the canal so outside the window was a view of another room! Because of that we kept the drapes drawn making the room dark and feel very closed in. The bathroom was beautiful. We had not been to Amsterdam so I wish we had a room with a canal view. On a positive note, we arrived early and were allowed to check in. This was great since we had just flown in from Africa and needed a shower and rest. Staff were helpful phoning for a taxi. Breakfast was expensive but the buffet had a good variety of food if you want to spoil yourself. In all we enjoyed our time here and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mother4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,652 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,158 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £134 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing