We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting centrally located gem”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #19 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enchanting centrally located gem”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as a couple. Unexpectedly ugraded on arrival to an enormous suite. All staff were very friendly and welcoming and their helpfulness was unstinting throughout our stay. Hotel used IPads as compediums which was an interesting innovation. The hotel lobby and bar area are very uniquely decorated and give a very cosy feeling. The location is very central and the hotel recommendations on restaurants for dinner was very much appreciated.

Terry B

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,660
    945
    163
    44
    33
See reviews for
681
2,115
119
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We wanted a Central hotel for a one night stay before boarding our cruise ship and choose Hotel Estherea. From the moment the friendly and helpful staff checked us in it has been absolutely wonderful. Everything about this hotel is top rate. Their attention to detail, the sumptuous decor, the comfort of the rooms - what more praise can I give. Definitely among a couple of the best hotels worldwide we've ever stayed in.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

While this hotel has been fully renovated in the dutch tradition, we found both of our two rooms very small. The hotel is well located and staff were helpful. They have all you will need in terms of push bikes or scooters and a nice bar and breakfast area. It was the size of the rooms that was the problem, tiniest of any we came across.

Room Tip: Worth asking whether the rooms are all the same size or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just got back from a three night stay at this hotel and it was excellent. Every thing about this hotel is good.There are a lot of hotels that are cheaper than this one but you get what you pay for and it is worth the extra money.close to all the tourist attractions.Room very clean bed very comfy staff were friendly.I can find faults with most hotels but not here.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the front are more expensive but are worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel made our stay. We had several rooms and I really enjoyed our lovely room overlooking the Singel Canal. Even though the street was below, it was very quiet. The room was well appointed, although the bathroom was a bit small. The lobby had a charming little bar and there are little complimentary treats in the lobby for guests. I frequently enjoyed the expresso machine.The breakfast room is quaint and the food is good. The front desk staff were attentive and friendly. Every dinner recommendation was excellent. Everything is within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I've just got back from this hotel, stayed for three nights. This hotel is in a nice location in a lovely area of Amsterdam but within walking distance to most of the sites. Good transport links with the tram network. It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station but a tram would take 5 mins. There are lots of restaurants, bars and cafés nearby.
The hotel it's self is beautifully decorated, the rooms and bathrooms are lovely. The free hot and cold drinks in the lobby with sweet treats too was a big bonus. The staff were very friendly, although we did sit at the bar for quite a while and no one came to serve us one evening.
We stayed in a standard room which was still lovely. High quality toiletries were provided. The shower was separate to the toilet and basin, the shower itself very good. The bed was amazing.
I honestly have no complaints.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a really positive experience at Hotel Estherea recently. The hotel itself is in a great location, just off of one of the canals in the heart of the city. It's probably an 8 minute walk from the train station and it's within a very short walk of many great restaurants, not to mention very close to the Anne Frank house. As far as the hotel goes, it is really beautiful. The decor is a bit over the top, but I did appreciate that. It's very old-style swanky and glamorous. I could see how some may not enjoy the decor, though. The lobby is really open and there is a fun bar that seemed to be open quite a lot. The hotel serves breakfast and the bar offers a few snacks, but they don't do a dinner service. A couple fun perks about the hotel are that they have a free coffee machine down in the lobby for you to get your espresso jolt any time you need one, and they also loan you an iPad to use during your stay. Pretty neat! Our room was very cozy and comfortable. The bathrooms were very strange, but kept us amused. We felt like we were taking a shower in a closet - truly, I think we were, and then there was another "closet" with the toilet and sink. Gotta make use of the space somehow! The closet shower was VERY nice - it had heated tile floors and was very large with really nice shampoos and soaps. We appreciated the kind, sincere service we received at the hotel, as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,635 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing