We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Estherea
Nearby Hotels
Rho Hotel(Amsterdam)
US$321
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$252
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$353
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$651
US$384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$352
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$362
US$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$931
US$814
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$648
US$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,170)
Filter reviews
4,170 results
Traveller rating
2,914
993
178
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,914
993
178
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingel canalbeautiful hotelcanal view roomdam squarecomplimentary coffeewithin walking distancejacuzzi bathdeluxe roomnine streetsperfect locationlobby areapublic areasanne frank houseflower marketloved this hotellovely roomwalked everywhere
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,027 - 3,032 of 4,170 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights (July 24-27) and really enjoyed this little hotel. The front entrance, lobby, bar area, sitting areas and restaurant are very cozy and welcoming, but not small or cramped. Nice decor throughout the entire hotel. The rooms are lovely and if you are lucky enough to get a canal view, it can add that final perfect touch to the atmosphere of the experience. I found my room to be extremely cozy and comfortable, the bathroom was very nice and roomy, including a full size bath tub. The appointments in the room were perfect. The location is in an ideal location within the city center. Very close to everything (3 minutes walk to Dam Square) and tucked away on one of the more quiet canals. Who could want more? Lastly, I found the staff to be very attentive, helpful and polite. I would stay here again and certainly will the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTrotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Loved the Hotel Estherea. Beautiful (though not large) rooms; great bathrooms with nice toiletries. Inside rooms have no views but the rooms themselves are beautifully appointed. But, who needs to pay for a canal view room when you only need the rooms for sleeping and you can get the canal view in the comfortable lobby. The free cookies and cany available all day were not great but the coffee and tea were wonderful. Also, great service and best of all, the hotel is in a GREAT location; walking distance to everything including the Central train station. The free computer in the lobby was also nice but there was only one so one had to wait one's turn all the time. We'd stay at this hotel if we are ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermom94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We travel a great deal and this is a very special property . Most TA reviews are glowing and for good reason . This is a hotel in a fantastic location with some rooms which have magical views and with modern conveniences such as nicely sized bathrooms and a range of amenities . The staff are very knowledgable and are happy to make reservations for restaurants , bike rentals , etc . Coffee and tea and cookies are complimentary in the very nicely maintained common areas .

We were able to check in at 1 PM after a pretty early arrival . The hotel runs at near capacity in the summer so there is big comings and goings of people in the lobby managed by multiple staff . There are abundant staff and I wondered why wiht the number of people asking questions etc , why they dont designate one of these to serve as a concierge .

Our room was moderate in size with an odd sized double bed ( a bit short and we are not very tall ) and a nice litle couch and two chairs. The lighting in the room is abysmal .

The hotel is superior and tries to find a sweet spot between value and service provided. It does so to some extent . Canal view rooms are more expensive particularly on weekends and breakfast is 16 euros per person . So a 210 Euro room on a weekend ( we were not there through the weekend ) with breakfast is up to almost 250 Euros not counitng tax. If you bring a laptop and want wi-fi, it is an extra10 euros per laptop and so that can add 20 euros per day to a bill .......the place can get pricey.

That being said , on balance , location , staff, facilities, service make this a wise choice

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYNAPSEBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We booked a reservation back in May and then a week before we were to travel double checked our reservations, we saw that the rack rate was over 20 euros less than what we had paid for it.. though the hotel would not accept that rate, even though it was still one week before our travel time! We also paid for a deluxe room (additional 40 euros) but hardly had place to move.. if you sit on the chair you cant pass to go to the window... the staff went out of their way to be cold, distant and rude.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newyorkseasontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

This is a lovely hotel on Singel, you couldn't wish for a better location in Amsterdam. We had room 302 on the other side, above Spui which is fairly noisy at night. I would recommend a room on the side of the Singel as you will get a canal view and it's much calmer.

The room was a normal size with a small balcony and a big bath tub + a shower. Bed was big and comfy. Decoration throughout the hotel is very classic but nice.

We also really liked the buffet breakfast. The only complaint would be the staff, many of them were unhelpful and unefficient, people had to wait in lines at the lobby because it took them a very long time indeed to check people in etc. Hopefully there'll be some changes coming!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews