We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Great Location”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel Great Location”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Stayed for a flying visit a couple of weeks ago. The hotel was fabulous, check out the photos, we had a gorgeous room overlooking the canal. Staff were very helpful, the lounge and bar areas were great, gorgeous chandelier, could have just spent the whole visit enjoying the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giggoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,633
    942
    161
    42
    33
See reviews for
675
2,097
119
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This hotel is, indeed, within walking distance of most of the downtown Amsterdam sights. Located on a quiet canal, it is a real treasure. The staff is very accommodating -- they didn't blink an eye at our 8am check-in. If a canal-view room isn't available, I definitely recommend the room we had on the top floor, street side (room 519). It was spacious, nicely furnished, and included the only only balcony I am aware of in the hotel (looking out over the rooftops of the city).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COBDeanDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We recently spent 2 nights at Hotel Estherea. It was lovely and cozy with beautiful furnishings and a beautiful location on one of the canals. The location was easily within a 15 minute walk to many of the main attractions or the canal bus. By Euorpean standards the rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms looked recently renovated. The staff were wonderful-we were able to get into several rooms early, they answered numerous questions and the free cookies, chocolate and coffee were great. They had free internet available in the lobby, a nice bar, a great reading room with papers and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Compared to other prices for nice hotels in Amsterdam we were very pleased. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellady1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights (July 24-27) and really enjoyed this little hotel. The front entrance, lobby, bar area, sitting areas and restaurant are very cozy and welcoming, but not small or cramped. Nice decor throughout the entire hotel. The rooms are lovely and if you are lucky enough to get a canal view, it can add that final perfect touch to the atmosphere of the experience. I found my room to be extremely cozy and comfortable, the bathroom was very nice and roomy, including a full size bath tub. The appointments in the room were perfect. The location is in an ideal location within the city center. Very close to everything (3 minutes walk to Dam Square) and tucked away on one of the more quiet canals. Who could want more? Lastly, I found the staff to be very attentive, helpful and polite. I would stay here again and certainly will the next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTrotster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Loved the Hotel Estherea. Beautiful (though not large) rooms; great bathrooms with nice toiletries. Inside rooms have no views but the rooms themselves are beautifully appointed. But, who needs to pay for a canal view room when you only need the rooms for sleeping and you can get the canal view in the comfortable lobby. The free cookies and cany available all day were not great but the coffee and tea were wonderful. Also, great service and best of all, the hotel is in a GREAT location; walking distance to everything including the Central train station. The free computer in the lobby was also nice but there was only one so one had to wait one's turn all the time. We'd stay at this hotel if we are ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermom94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We travel a great deal and this is a very special property . Most TA reviews are glowing and for good reason . This is a hotel in a fantastic location with some rooms which have magical views and with modern conveniences such as nicely sized bathrooms and a range of amenities . The staff are very knowledgable and are happy to make reservations for restaurants , bike rentals , etc . Coffee and tea and cookies are complimentary in the very nicely maintained common areas .

We were able to check in at 1 PM after a pretty early arrival . The hotel runs at near capacity in the summer so there is big comings and goings of people in the lobby managed by multiple staff . There are abundant staff and I wondered why wiht the number of people asking questions etc , why they dont designate one of these to serve as a concierge .

Our room was moderate in size with an odd sized double bed ( a bit short and we are not very tall ) and a nice litle couch and two chairs. The lighting in the room is abysmal .

The hotel is superior and tries to find a sweet spot between value and service provided. It does so to some extent . Canal view rooms are more expensive particularly on weekends and breakfast is 16 euros per person . So a 210 Euro room on a weekend ( we were not there through the weekend ) with breakfast is up to almost 250 Euros not counitng tax. If you bring a laptop and want wi-fi, it is an extra10 euros per laptop and so that can add 20 euros per day to a bill .......the place can get pricey.

That being said , on balance , location , staff, facilities, service make this a wise choice

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYNAPSEBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We booked a reservation back in May and then a week before we were to travel double checked our reservations, we saw that the rack rate was over 20 euros less than what we had paid for it.. though the hotel would not accept that rate, even though it was still one week before our travel time! We also paid for a deluxe room (additional 40 euros) but hardly had place to move.. if you sit on the chair you cant pass to go to the window... the staff went out of their way to be cold, distant and rude.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newyorkseasontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing