We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,353)
Filter reviews
4,354 results
Traveller rating
3,066
1,016
183
49
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,066
1,016
183
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews singel canal beautiful hotel dam square canal view room complimentary coffee within walking distance jacuzzi bath deluxe room nine streets perfect location lobby area anne frank house flower market loved this hotel beautiful room major attractions would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 4,354 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Estherea is a delightful, and charming boutique hotel in the exact location you will want for touring Amsterdam. Bright, sunny rooms in an upscale 17th Century row house immediately on the canal. Many excellent restaurants and cafes in immediate walking distance. Perfect service, modern bathrooms.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank ffrolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

This hotel is very close to Dam Square and is a pretty easy walk to the Central Train Station. The setting is very pretty, right on the Singel canal and surrounded by restaurants and shops. The Caprese Italian restaurant about a block away is excellent. The hotel décor is over-the-top, but still pleasant. The standard rooms are very small and ours were interior rooms that looked onto other hotel rooms - so the view was not great, but we were able to open the windows for fresh air. It was very quiet for a good-size hotel and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also small, but OK. It did not have "real" doors, but swinging louvered doors. The room and bathroom were very clean and the staff was fine. I really liked the location of this hotel and would stay here again if I could opt for a premium room.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We arrived in Amsterdam, at the Hotel Esthera, after a long day and night of traveling from Los Angeles (through Paris)! Exhausted, we entered the beautiful lobby full of fresh flowers, gorgeous chandeliers, and comfortable sofas and immediately felt at home. The registration staff warmly greeted us weary travelers and offered suggestions for a evening meal, close to the hotel. Our bellman, upon learning this was our first visit to Amsterdam, provided us a wonderful geographic overview of the city and with warmth assured us that both he and the entire hotel staff would be glad to help us in any way possible.

Our room, on the fourth floor faced the canal and provided a most lovely view, especially in the early morning as the sun was rising. Our room was large and beautifully decorated including beautiful vintage wallpaper. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, however that was not an issue whatsoever. Lovely, high end toiletries and a great shower! Heavenly beds and pillows provided an excellent night's sleep!

The breakfast buffet was the best breakfast we enjoyed during our month-long visit to Holland and France. Delicious eggs, sausages, breads, pastries, fruit, a variety of granola and other cereals, excellent cheeses and breakfast meats, and a variety of fresh fruit are just a sample of the daily offerings. An excellent coffee machine provided guests with their choice of coffee, cappuccino, lattes, and more. We so looked forward to our breakfast each day in the lovely breakfast room.

The hotel's bar and lounges were elegant but not stuffy or intimidating. It was so relaxing to enjoy an after dinner drink in the bar and lounge area while recapping the day and writing our postcards!

Finally, the hotel is centrally located on the Singel ring/canal. We were able to walk to all the city's sights including the Van Gogh and Rijk's museums, the Anne Frank House, the 9 little shopping streets, excellent restaurants, the many churches and other historic canals. The location is literally perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor (3rd and above) facing the canal.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NANCYJEANL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I can’t imagine how other hotels achieve a higher rating than Hotel Estherea. The hotel is a very old and beautifully decorated property on the Singel Canal, and would deserve a feature article in Architectural Digest. I felt home after walking through the front door. Staff members were professional, courteous, and accommodating. We paid a little more for a large room facing the canal that was very comfortable and quiet. And, we enjoyed the view from our room both during the day and in the evening. Location couldn’t be better. Dam Square is only a short walk. Kalverstraat (the main shopping street) is only a couple blocks away, and the hip 9 Street boutique shop/restaurant area is literally across the canal. Moreover, the street behind the hotel has many good restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Only two features keep this hotel from being a 5 Star – a swimming pool and a full service restaurant. These are not available mainly because this is an old and historic property that lacks space. That was not a problem for me. I will be staying there next time I am in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Our room was directly over front door and facing canal and was great! I think it was Room 110.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sosoeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

I could have stayed here forever! The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are beautifully appointed. Next to the super comfortable beds, my favorite part of the room was the Jacuzzi bathtub. After walking until my feet felt like they were going to fall off, it was a real lifesaver! I also enjoyed the spa classification toiletries, bathrobes and slippers that they provide for their guests. What a wonderful treat.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Baseballmom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews