We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #16 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2005

Beautiful hotel, very comfortable and luxurious. Decorations were superb, especially the chandeliers. From the outside looks very ordinary, but inside was a surprise. Especially appreciated the freely available help- yourself coffee, tea, hot chocolate, biscuits, fruit, and jars of sweeties!

Did not have breakfast as thought it was very expensive. A family of four would pay over eighty pounds if having two breakfasts on a short break - which is exorbitant.

Originally asked via internet for a view overlooking the canal but told there would be a supplement. but when arrived a room with a view was available without the supplement - so worth asking when you get there.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Genie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,239 - 3,245 of 3,980 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds, UK
19
Reviewed 30 August 2005

Just returned from 2 day break at Estheria, flights booked with Air Miles from Leeds and hotel booked with Expedia on basis of reviews on Trip Advisor. Not disappointed. A lovely hotel in a great location for discovering Amsterdam on foot. 5 minutes from Dam Square but in quiet location on Singel canal. Paid Euro 99 (£68) per night per room without breakfast. Given choice of small room overlooking canal or larger air conditioned room in newer part of hotel at the back. Looked at both. Opted for the larger room. Very nicely furnished and very comfortable as was the rest of the hotel. Very courteous and efficient staff. Free coffee/tea and biscuits and fruit in lobby area a major advantage. Didn't eat breakfast in hotel. Thought Euro 14 per person was a bit expensive. Plenty of coffee shops and restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. Would definitely stay again but don't pay the "tarrif" (full) price. Hotel well worth its 4* rating.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2005

I always pick my hotels after reading reviews on tripadvisor and for the first time I was really disappointed. The hotel is very nice but our room (405) was terrible. You cannot even compare it to B&B. We paid £120/night for a very very small room at the back with no air-con. We had to leave the window open at night and the noise from the street is too much for a good night sleep. Carpet in the room was shabby and stained, bed was very small for double, a tiny tv, smallest desk and above all the shower room was separate from the toilet and at the opposite end. We had our toiletries at two places and still ran out of place to put everything. You can hear every noise from adjoining rooms and it is not pleasant...I dont understand how they call themselves 4* when they cannot even provide simple amenities like door signs, shampoo, conditioner, iron (available upon request but house cleaning took it back every day), hair drier was the slowest one I've ever seen in my life. And the two glasses provided in the bathroom were chipped and cracked. Now you dont expect that from a hotel with this reputation, do u? It actually encouraged us to stay out as much as possible and therefore, we got to see quite alot.

I think its a hit and miss with this hotel. All the rooms are different sizes (looking at the fire safety map) and therefore different decore. I dont think anyone staying in one of the back room has reviewed this hotel here. Certainly avoid the rooms at the back if you can but then u r charged extra for a canal view room.

On the positive side, the hotel (outside our room) was very nice, it is centrally located - just 5 mins from Dam square, easily reachable from central station - tram nos 1, 2, 5, 13 stop at Spui which is under 5 mins away, breakfast was adequate and staff is polite.

I will definiely not stay here again. For this price I'd rather stay at Marriott or Sheraton!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Scientist-Mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2005

My second stay here; the hotel has been refurbished since I last visited and is even better. We were not lucky enough to have a canal view room but ours was comfortable and attractive.

The hotel has a cosy bar, pleasant breakfast room and library area. Although there is no restaurant for evening dining there are dozens of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

All the attractions of Amsterdam are easily accessible, but despite this the hotel is very peaceful and relaxing.

The staff are friendly and professional.

All in all a great value hotel

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rad9378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2005

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the Hotel Estherea in Amsterdam. We found the hotel lavishly decorated with warm and welcoming staff. Although our hotel room was quite compact it had a beautiful view of the canal and surrounding area and was tastefully decorated. The hotel is situated close to many of the popular tourist areas of Amsterdam but a good distance from the more seedy areas so guests never feel uneasy or unsafe. All in all we had a fantastic time and would definitely choose to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2005
11  Thank k_killough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2005

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We stayed for 4 days on recommendation and we were not disappointed.
The staff were welcoming, the hotel was charming, the rooms beautiful (some with great canal views) and all within walking distance of Dam Square.
If you are thinking of visiting Amsterdam please do not look anywhere else!

9  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2005

Both my wife and i spent my 40th birthday in amsterdam recently and we chose to stay at the hotel estherea. This hotel is fantastic for couples and familys, it's no good for back packers or people on a budget as it's quite expensive. But if your looking for luxury at an affordable price, then you need look no further than this wonderful establishment. So if your planning a trip to the dam with your wife or girlfriend and choose to stay anywhere other than here, your making a big mistake! Go, be happy, n-joy!

10  Thank Lenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,224 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
790 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £152 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing