We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Hotel In The World!”
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Perfect central location on a beautiful canal, a short walk to many restaurants and attractions and right near a tram to take you quickly everywhere else. Wonderful, courteous staff. Gorgeous old-Amsterdam style canal house hotel. The public areas are drop-dead gorgeous and there are now two computers in the living room for guests without charge -- one or the other was always available.. Tea, coffee, cookies etc. left out all day are a nice touch and we appreciated a cup of camomile tea while watching the fish in the fish tank. Our room was quiet (on an interior courtyard), very charming -- comfortable bed and large bath with a nice tub/shower and nice toiletries.. This was my second stay at the Estherea, and I'd love to go back anytime!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGirlToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,890 - 2,896 of 4,024 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

The Hotel Estherea is in a good location on the Singel Canal. The description states that it has been held in ownership by the same family for many,many generations. That made us believe that all the personal touches and pride of family ownership would be there. Instead, the reception was aloof to the point of being unhelpful--for example,the porter showed us to our room but he never carried our bags and saw me struggling with mine. He merely opened the door for us and expected his two euro tip! When I emailed the front desk to ask about the taxi charges from the train station to the hotel they told me about 10 euros. They didn't bother to mention that all the taxi drivers in Amsterdam cheat on the fares,which is common,common knowl;edge. What the drivers say is--"you have 4 bags. That costs extra!" If the hotel staff knew this, in my view they could have easily have said--BEWARE! We were charged 25 euros for a three minute ride. Apparently that was the highest they had heard of from other complaints issued by hotel guests. When we asked about restaurant recommendations they only came up with one name--we indicated that we were just there--could there be another restaurant in all of Amsterdam.They indicated they couldn't think of one but would get back to us. They never did. Having said all that, I will now state that the location is good and central.quiet,

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We stayed in a triple room for 3 nights our bed was a super kingsize with lovely bedlinen. Our daughter slept in a proper sturdy sofa bed which was also very comfortable. The room was cleaned everyday with bottles of mineral water replaced in the minibar free of charge. There was a very high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel which we loved. Lots of lovely complementary toiletries, slippers and a proper iron and ironing board. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, we ate in the local cafe called broodje bert which was delicious, we also had eggs benedict one morning at Cafe Luxembourg which was also verg good. The free tea, coffee,hot chocolate was such a nice touch, we looked forward to coming back to the hotel late afternoon for a cuppa and some cakes and cookies. Our daughter loved the jars of free sweets and candies that were also on offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel also had free internet access which is very unusual, great for checking in online and printing off tickets. The hotel is very central it's near to Dam square, it's within walking distance of Anne Franks house, the canal boats, the museums and Vondel park, we walked everywhere with a 5 year old. This is not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for and I honestly can't say anything negative about this hotel. I find it hard to believe that some people have had a bad experience staying here. We'll be back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colettski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

I have never been so delighted by a hotel in my long traveling life. Hotel Estherea is right on the Singel Canal and many rooms face onto the canal (though the ones on the 5th floor only have one window, the ones below have huge picture windows). The hotel lobby is just delightful and beautiful and quiet most of the time. This boutique hotel is near some great restaurants, and it is perfectly located. We asked to hold our bags several times, and the front desk staff was amazingly helpful and kind. I wish there were a hotel like this in every European city. It is a real find, and I would never stay anywhere in Amsterdam again. (DO NOT go to the American Hotel, despite its reputation -- SO touristy). This is a charmer! (Oh, and you'll love the gorgeous salt water fish tank in the lobby -- tres elegante!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

The staff was excelent and very helpful with any questions that we had. We spent 2 nights there and it was much better then the 5 star hotel we stayed in on the way back to Paris in Brussels. We found out the hard way via cab rides that the best way to get anywhere in Amsterdam is either the canel hop on hop off boat., or simply when you go out the front door of the hotel go right and the first cross street make another right and walk a few blocks to the center of the city. No need for fancy places to eat as any small pub will do and the food is just as good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOSUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

After weeks of research on every internet side imaginable I found this hotel and had a good feeling, so I booked it. My wife and I were immediately excited as soon as we stepped into the hotel. The decor is very classy and has an old world feel. The people that work there are super friendly, helpful and will do anything they can to help you find or get somewhere. The room was a suite with a four poster bed overlooking the canal. it was perfect. The bed was comfortable too. Every morning and night there was always complimentary fruit or cookies and always fresh coffee or hot chocolate. My wife and i travel a lot and try to get a lot of value for the dollar. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meswender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I carefully chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and other sources. I was quite disappointed (for the first time with Tripadvisor). We chose a canal view deluxe room based on other posts. I booked on their web site and paid full price, so I wasn't being "punished". The room (410) was quite plain, two small chairs and a small desk. You need to leave the bathroom to towel off. A shallow closet (too shallow for hangers to hang perpendicular to the wall) and no drawers at all. Bed and bedding adequate at best. This place is 2.5 stars - two for the room and an extra.5 for the lobby.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank jock b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,669 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,286 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,490 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £113 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing