We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amsterdam Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #17 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An Amsterdam Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

This is a truly beautiful hotel in one of the old canal houses on the Singel canal. We booked a canal view room (well worth the little bit extra) and it was furnished beautifully and had the biggest bathroom I have ever seen in a European hotel! The lobby is a very comfortable place just to stop and spend some time (with hot beverages and biscuits), crystal chandeliers and a mezmorising fish tank. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and on arrival, they escort you to your room and show you the features, including how to adjust the heating / cooling and generally make sure you're completely happy before they leave you to get on with the business of unwinding or sightseeing. Probably not the best choice if you have a car, but trams run from Centraal Station to the street adjacent to the hotel or if you're not laden with too much baggage, you can walk from the station to the hotel in only 15-20 mins. I wouldn't bother looking elsewhere for somewhere to stay next time I'm in Amsterdam - I'd go straight back to the Estherea.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wooders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,613
    936
    160
    41
    33
See reviews for
673
2,082
118
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

Was very impressed by the large and charmingly decorated room making it a good choice for business travellers (large wardrobe) and also for a nice weekend with its cozy sofa. Interior of the hotel itself is charming. You can get free coffee and tea in the lobby (I learned about this when I left). Beside this, very friendly and fast service. It is worth choosing a canal view room as the canal there is very nice and quiet. Location very good. For the 104 EUR a night I had booked a place I can highly recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spletzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

As the hotel was rated quite well by Tripadvisor, we booked 2 nights through booking.com. Something went wrong with the booking, we did not receive the confirmation via booking.com. I checked this with the booking customer service and they fixed the problem.

I was very lucky to find parking space directly in front of the hotel. You should know that parking your car in front of the door during 24 hours costs you 50€...but the hotel is not responsible for this

We paid 100€ per room per night (including taxes) and the breakfast was 16€ per person.

The hotel is very charming, with nice furniture etc... The staff at the reception was very friendly. As my wife is pregnant in her 9th month, we asked for a quit and spacious room as earlier reports here indicated the rooms were small. They provided us indeed with a very nice and spacious room at the backside (417). Very friendly

The breakfast is superb, typical Dutch ! A large choice of bread, fruit, etc.... excellent ! The entrance hall is very cozzy, they have even a reading room - library.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SooLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

I have stayed at this hotel on several occassions and it is my favourite Amsterdam Hotel. Central location on the picturesque Singel canal close to all the sights, shops and places to eat & drink.
Lovely and cosy, the decor is elegant and welcoming and the staff are extremely helpfull.
Free coffee, tea and hot choc in the lobby/sitting area with cakes, biscuits .. a welcome treat after a busy day sightseeing or shopping.
Breakfasts are by buffet and the selection is extensive.
Definately worth paying the supplement for a canal view room, the rooms are cosy and the beds are comfy with snuggly duvets.
The italian restaurant 'Casa di David' located on the same canal as the Estherea is a fun place to eat in the evenings , the food is delicious and the waiters are a scream.. booking is a must as its very popular with locals.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayskeepmesane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stopped at the Estherea for a quiet romantic break and were pleasantly suprisised at the comfort of the hotel. We had room 515 on the top floor and it was remarkably quiet. Beds very comfy with duvets and very user friendly heating if required. Minor gripe in that the mni bar advised is just a fridge with two bottles of complimentary water in it. I asked the receptionist and they don't stock the bar anymore so bring your own. Also there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room which means one of you has to be pursuaded in the morning to get dressed and go and get the morning cuppa's. The lobby area was very grand with a beautiful large fish tank and two internet computers. There are plenty of places to sit during the day to relax from the cold and take advantages of the very sweet hot chocolate and complimentary cakes and biscuits.

The hotel do seem to do a lot to make your stay as comfortable as they can from the little bags of good night chocolates and the jars of sweets in reception it just would have been nice to have been able to have the drinking facilities in your room as well.

Location wise you can't go far wrong. Right on the Singel Canal which is one of the three largest ones, minutes from the history quarter and Anne Frank's house, (go early), and just turn right to the Dam Square. In the street behind the hotel we found a lovely little bar which did a beautiful mountain of cheese with mustard which went down very smoothly with a glass or two of port. They also own the very gamely and highly popular restuarant two doors down but we didn't try it.

Enjoy

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_fusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We were shocked to read the few poor reviews on here (luckily only 8 out of the over 400) We booked a room with a canal view and it was beautiful. Large room and large bathroom with gorgeous smellie freebies! The view from the room was delightful with windows stretching the whole length of the outside wall. There were 3 double windows in total and you could sit on the window seat looking out. I will post photographs to show this. The bed was large and extremely comfortable with lovely furniture.

The hotel itself took our breath away when we walked in, beautifully designed, coloured stained ceiling glass, large aquarium, large comfortable chairs and settee's.

Location couldn't be more perfect. Turn right out of the hotel, right again and there you are in Dam Square. There is also a fabulous Irish Pub called O'Reillys just when you turn right, food amazing, good price and excellent true Irish staff.

The breakfasts where 16 euros each which I felt was expensive HOWEVER there was a vast range (bacon, sausage, fried and scrambled egg, toast, many varieties of breads, jams, marmalades, cereal, fruit, meat, cheese, cakes, pastries, many juices) and it was all you can eat and gorgeous (maybe not a negative then after all!)

Only one negative you could hear the other people above, walking around their room and ..... well doing other things!!!! ..... It was very funny though!!!

We had room 214.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

Just a short business stay in this rather romantic hotel. Nice location and good range of hot and cold breakfast in the morning at extra 16.00 Euro charge - which I think is a bit expensive. Rooms ok and clean mine was rather smaller but the flat screen telly was huge! I would say nice and cosy hotel, a bit too expensive especially if you are not part of any group they belong to. Book in advance on some broker website to get the best deal! There has been a list price of 300 Euro, my room was only for 130 Euro. So research the best deal before you book it! Enjoy your stay!

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Layla_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing