We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #18 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tornby, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

A perfectly located hotel for exploring Amsterdam, in a quiet but central location. The canal view room we had was really nice and comfortable, and good value for money, and the service at the hotel was nice and personal- We'll be back! Matter of fact - we have already booked our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S-ELinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,579
    921
    159
    41
    32
See reviews for
652
2,062
116
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2010

We had a three night stay in Hotel Estherea. We paid a supplement for a canal view room, which proved to be the right choice since our top-floor room was a good size with a very comfortable king-size bed and a spacious well-equipped bathroom; the 'his n' hers' wash basins were a nice touch, as were the toiletries provided. Traditional and sumptuous decor in the public rooms provided a warm winter welcome. The staff were friendly and helpful; we were particulaly impressed to be able to check into our room as soon as we arrived at the hotel at 11am. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cakes in the reception area were very welcome, but we took our own tea-making equipment to use in our room for early morning tea. The hotel breakfast is expensive at 16 euros per person and definitely not value for money. We went to 'Broodje Bert', which is a small cafe just a few yards away along the same side of the street, for breakfast costing 7 euros per person. We found some excellent restaurants close to the hotel for evening meals; these were: Casa di David, Singel 426 (Italian); De Theeboom, Singel 210 (French) and Haesje Claese, Spuistraat 275 (Dutch). All in all a super break.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelbugBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

The hotel has a great location on the canal. lower floor, canal facing rooms can be noisy as the late hours come with folks returning home from nights out, but that doesn't diminish my enthusiasm one bit as we knew we were getting that and wanted the view, which was lovely. staff are friendly and helpful. free coffee/tea and snacks in the lobby. location is convenient to all you want to see in Amsterdam - we walked everywhere. rooms are nice - well decorated and clean. nicely sized for europe.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheese-arific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

That was very dissapointing! When I arrived at the hotel my impressions were very good as the beauty, style and service of the hotel fulfiled my expectances; however, after the two first nights I discovered a mouse entering to my room in the middle of the night.
Although the receptionist of the hotel first treated me as a stupid scary lady (mice are normal in Amsterdam); I have to recognise that the manager made everything he could to help me with the problem. After double check the room they protected the door in such a way to prevent other mouse coming inside; however, for me the incident was sufficient for disqualify this hotel as a future option.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunset71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

I trust this site and have always found it to be useful, but I disagree with most of the reviews on this occasion and felt it important to add my own comments. Before I start though it is worth mentioning that Amsterdam is an energetic city with noisy streets everywhere and if you are looking for a quiet hotel centrally with charm and views, you will be hard pushed to find a perfect one. We were looking for something with a few luxuries, not too central but close enough to not spend more than 15 minutes walking to main attractions.

The Pros: The location is perfect. The hotel is very clean. The room was immaculate. The staff were certainly friendly enough, although there seemed to be a significant rotation of staff and I was challenged a couple of times simply because the staff had not seen me before. Free slippers (not comfortable though). Free internet - always working ok. Communal lounge areas were pleasant and relaxing.

The Cons: The room was generally small but just ok, the toilet just 1m2, bathroom had a jacuzzi bath but actually it is not good - the jacuzzi mode is not proper jacuzzi & just pumped bubbles and so loud - louder than any vacuum cleaner, 30 seconds was enough to realise that it is not relaxing at all. There was a chandelier at chest height over the bed (I am tall) so I had to crouch whilst on the bed. Loads of grand pillows but no soft ones. Didn't sleep particularly well. There is no tea or coffee in the rooms! Why not? Tea & coffee is free in the lobby downstairs but why should i have to get dressed in the mornings just to get a cup of coffee? No bath robes in the room. Breakfast was an extra 16 euros each on top of the 400 euros for 3 nights. You do get noise through the walls but it wasn't too bad - maybe we had quiet neighbours. You can certainly hear them try the bath though!

Summary: This hotel needs to add tea & coffee in the rooms, add bath robes, make the beds more comfortable, get rid of the things that it uses to sell for effect like the 'jacuzzi' baths, remove obstacles like the chandelier that I frequently hit my head on and then it will be a great place to stay. Until then I suggest that it is probably worth looking around.

By the way, you need to request a room overlooking the canal if that is what you want.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collierville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

This hotel rocks! Seriously, my wife and I had the best time here. The location could not be better. The lobby is very inviting with free coffee and cookies, the staff very friendly and knowledgeable, and our room was lovely, spacious, and well decorated. Nothing about the hotel is pretentious or stuffy. Anyone who rates this hotel as less than "very good" is an idiot and obviously doesn't know what they're talking about. My wife and I have traveled extensively, and yet this is the only hotel in any country that I've considered worthy to write a review of. I can say without question that we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hernando_De_Soto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed 4 nights, 21th until 25th december 2009. Wonderful HOTEL.
Antonio - Brazil

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonoUFRGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing