We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Debbie W
Reigate, United Kingdom

Highly recommend but a few tweaks would make perfect

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 May 2019via mobile
Stayed for three days last week. Overall the stay was great. The hotel is brilliantly located and is lovely inside.

Room was great - overlooking the canal at front and over the bar. Was worried about noise but that wasn’t an issue at all.

Staff were lovely. They even helped me when I lost my phone, looking after it until a colleague could pick it up.

Only two things would have made this perfect

- some better coffee in the room (stuff they have is really not nice) ... an espresso type machine would have been fab.

- more bikes and better looked after! Were only 4 and they were always out really early. We managed to get 2 on one day and actually they were in a pretty poor state so we didn’t keep them long. Bell didn’t work on mine, and lots of rattling ... oh and they don’t have break leavers, you have to back cycle. For a nice hotel I would have expected better. We ended up renting around corner
Date of stay: May 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this review
Responded 5 Jun 2019
He there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to read our location worked out so well for you and you liked your room! Also really glad to read you enjoyed the team and they were able to help you out with your lost phone.

Our bikes will be replaced soon, are you coming back to try them out? Looking forward to have you back!

x the Hox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£288
  • travelup.com
    £331
  • Agoda.com
    £273
  • Vio.com
    £327
0.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£183
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £161
  • Agoda.com
    £133
  • Hotels.com
    £138
2.3 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£134
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £134
  • Agoda.com
    £116
  • Hotels.com
    £134
1.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£240
  • Expedia.com
    £240
  • Vio.com
    £237
  • Hotels.com
    £240
0.5 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Exterior
£231
  • Booking.com
    £232
  • travelup.com
    £201
  • Expedia.com
    £231
0.7 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£143
  • Expedia.com
    £144
  • Vio.com
    £143
  • Hotels.com
    £143
1.9 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
£108
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    £108
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Skyscanner.com
    £108
1.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
£92
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Vio.com
    £82
  • Hotels.com
    £92
4.0 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
£433
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £432
  • Expedia.com
    £433
  • travelup.com
    £437
0.2 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£444
  • Hotels.com
    £422
  • Vio.com
    £397
  • Expedia.com
    £482
0.9 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,124)
Filter reviews
3,125 results
Traveller rating
2,442
479
132
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,442
479
132
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supermarket prices canal view cozy room cool vibe nine streets cool hotel perfect location each morning we loved our stay free breakfast amazing hotel dam square anne frank house rooms are small lottie hipster herengracht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,069 - 1,074 of 3,125 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2019 via mobile

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at the Hoxton in Amsterdam and everyone we met there was so helpful and nice. The lounge was filled every night, the dj played good music and the bartenders made very impressive drinks I’ve never seen anything like. They greeted us with a nice note and a bottle of champagne, I can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ROBBURDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

He there,

Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate this very special occasion and sharing your experience too. We are thrilled to read it was a blast and you enjoyed the team and the vibe in our pad as well. We will pass on your shout out to our bar team for sure.

Are you coming back for the wedding anniversary next year ;-)?

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2019

The Hoxton was a great place to stay during our 5 day stay in Amsterdam. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast bag provided a good start to the day. Only downside was the multilevel floors after getting off the elevator and crowded lobby area.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank globetrotterwannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

He there,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Happy to read you enjoyed your room and it's cleanliness and also that you liked your free breakfast bag. Our pad does get packed sometimes, we will make sure to try and find you a quiet spot when you come back!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019

Great room (roomy, canal view) and service. Perfect location, especially for our first visit to Amsterdam. The restaurant, Lottis, was especially good where we had breakfast frequently. Even though it had a hipster vibe, we enjoyed our stay immensely and will likely try and stay here again should we return to this great city.

Date of stay: May 2019
2  Thank Sun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing the kind and praising words, we are very happy to read our location worked out well for you and we were able to help you get your bearings on your first time in the Dam! Thank you for your shout-out to our restaurant and bar Lotti's, glad to read you enjoyed your meals.

We are all looking forward to have you back here soon!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

Always nice to stay at the Hoxton. Attentive and friendly staff and just an awesome Hotel. Cool vibes, good coffee and Drinks. Just a pleasure to be there and enjoy the time at the bar or upstairs at the library.
Second stay and didn‘t disappoint. First thing I was asked if I wanted a water and even though this might be a „small“ gesture I was just pleased. Location is great too whether for shopping or dining and even for walking the Canals day or night just perfectly situated. Can only recommend it!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank pfkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2019

He there,

It was a pleasure to have you here again! Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend too. We are thrilled to read you like the team, the vibe in our pad and the drinks here (especially the coffee). Also really glad to read the guys at the desk were able to make you feel right at home and comfortable from the get go, that's what it's all about!

Come back soon, we can't wait!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel!
We particularly loved the 'little' breakfast in which your packed-breakfast is delivered to your bedroom door at the time of your choosing (included in price)
We also loved the Blank in-house toiletries... Very luxurious.
The staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive.
A carton of milk in the fridge 👍
Would recommend this place without hesitation.
PS did not feel ripped off at all during our stay... No expensive room bar... Just buy what you want from reception at supermarket prices. How refreshing!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jilly122333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2019

He Jilly,

What a wonderful review! So glad to read you enjoyed the free breakfast bag perk and our line of bathroom products, Blank. We are also happy to know you enjoyed our team and the free minibar with additional items in our Hox shop at supermarket prices.

Thanks for recommending and make sure to come back soon yourself too!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews