We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Romea

Amazing perfect hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jun 2019
We stayed for 2 nights in the hoxton. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It's in a great location central to everything. The room was a lovely size. Beautifully decorated and full of quirky decorations. Beds were comfortable and room was very quiet. Breakfast of a banana, yogurt and an orange juice was very much appreciated hanging on the door in the morning. Just enough to keep you going. We were there for my 40th birthday and when we came into the room there were balloons on the bed and a bottle of bubbles which was a lovely touch. Also the water and things in the mini bar were free and refilled every day. Bar downstairs was chilled and had a nice atmosphere and we ate in the bar which was equally as nice. Fab stay, perfect room will definitely be back again. Thank you hoxton x
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this review
Responded 11 Jun 2019
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We are thrilled to see that you loved our design and location but even more so that you chose us for celebrating this big milestone in your life! We couldn't let that pass without a small gift in the room ;) Special occasion or not, feel free to hop in any time when you are around.

x

the Hox
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£215
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£207
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £207
1.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Pool
£73
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • travelup.com
1.9 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
£165
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
  • ZenHotels.com
    £181
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £95
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    £156
  • Expedia.com
    £156
0.7 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £76
  • Algotels
1.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Algotels
4.0 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,120)
Filter reviews
3,120 results
Traveller rating
2,439
477
132
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,439
477
132
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supermarket prices canal view cozy room cool vibe nine streets cool hotel perfect location each morning we loved our stay free breakfast amazing hotel dam square anne frank house rooms are small lottie hipster herengracht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,060 - 1,065 of 3,120 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile

We were staying at another nearby boutique hotel that didn’t have any real vibe so we decided to check out The Hoxton. They nailed it. They’ve moved their reception desk past the bar and restaurant so that people who aren’t staying won’t feel intimidated about coming in. And they don’t! It’s a vibrant lively bar scene with locals and tourists alike enjoying delicious cocktails. We looked at a room and it was beautiful. Next time: The Hoxton!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ktwbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Hey there,

Great to see that you catch our drift without even staying with us! We'd love to see you stay with us so we are able to show you the full Hox experience :)

x

the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019

We stayed in the Hoxton for 4 nights in April. The hotel is situated in a prime position between the Singel and Herengracht canals, perfectly positioned for sightseeing. We booked a 'roomy canal view' room and, wary of comments in previous reviews regarding noise levels from the bar/restaurant, we requested a 'quieter room'.
We were not disappointed - our room was spacious and very comfortable, quiet at all times and overlooked the Singel canal to the rear which we viewed through huge floor to ceiling windows.
The staff were very accommodating, helpful and friendly.
We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food but the bar and restaurant were always busy.
Thoroughly recommended for comfort and location.

Room tip: If you are worried about noise from the bar, ask for a quieter room to the rear of the property.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
markwi88, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely words. We are happy that you had a good time with us! Great to see that our staff was able to meet your expectations too regarding your room preferences.

We'd love to see you back soon, if only to try out one of our delicious dishes!

x

the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2019

Set on the Herengracht and Singel in canal houses, this hotel is in the heart of Amsterdam Centrum. You're instantly a local on the charming canal ring when you check in, settle into a clean and contemporary room, unwind in the lounge and explore town by borrowing bikes from the hotel. We hired ours through a recommended vendor (Bike to Town) around the corner for a preferred rate via the Hoxton since we needed a cargo bike for our little son. We had a room with a view through large pane windows that could open. The tongue-in-cheek, in-room amenities were helpful like the little map and the handbook. We'll be back.

Room tip: Canal view rooms are unrivaled
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madamoiselle_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Hello there,

WOW! What a lovely read. What can we say.. We're thrilled to have been a part of your Dam adventure and are happy to read you liked your room and the amenities in it.

We can't wait to welcome you back!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2019 via mobile

Stayed for three days last week. Overall the stay was great. The hotel is brilliantly located and is lovely inside.

Room was great - overlooking the canal at front and over the bar. Was worried about noise but that wasn’t an issue at all.

Staff were lovely. They even helped me when I lost my phone, looking after it until a colleague could pick it up.

Only two things would have made this perfect

- some better coffee in the room (stuff they have is really not nice) ... an espresso type machine would have been fab.

- more bikes and better looked after! Were only 4 and they were always out really early. We managed to get 2 on one day and actually they were in a pretty poor state so we didn’t keep them long. Bell didn’t work on mine, and lots of rattling ... oh and they don’t have break leavers, you have to back cycle. For a nice hotel I would have expected better. We ended up renting around corner

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Y8689CIdebbiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

He there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to read our location worked out so well for you and you liked your room! Also really glad to read you enjoyed the team and they were able to help you out with your lost phone.

Our bikes will be replaced soon, are you coming back to try them out? Looking forward to have you back!

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2019 via mobile

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at the Hoxton in Amsterdam and everyone we met there was so helpful and nice. The lounge was filled every night, the dj played good music and the bartenders made very impressive drinks I’ve never seen anything like. They greeted us with a nice note and a bottle of champagne, I can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ROBBURDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaAMS, Front Office Manager at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

He there,

Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate this very special occasion and sharing your experience too. We are thrilled to read it was a blast and you enjoyed the team and the vibe in our pad as well. We will pass on your shout out to our bar team for sure.

Are you coming back for the wedding anniversary next year ;-)?

x the Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews