We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£362
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
£362
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Goldo H

More a busy hostel than a hotel

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
The Hoxton in Herengracht is more like a hostel, than a hotel. The room descriptions online are false, e.g. you don‘t necessarly get an extra seating area in the category „Roomy“. After we switched rooms, the carpet had coffee stains. On weekdays the hostel lobby is crowded with young people/students working on their notebook. When we sat there, we were not served. On the weekend, the lobby turns into a bar with DJ. In general, there is no quiet place for hotel guests. You can’t have a drink outside after 10 pm on the weekend. The breakfast is OK. It probably sounds like we are whiners, but overall, we just expected something else for 600+ Euros a night. No question - the rooms were neat, the staff was friendly and helpful, but still The Hoxton feels like a hipster hostel for startup people. You can book 5 star hotel rooms for less money nearby The Hoxton and get huge inner courtyards, the most wonderful service and a quiet stay right in the center of this beautiful city. Dont‘t waste your money :)
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Try to look for hotels nearby.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gulnara Sagdieva, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Jan,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We're bummed to hear that your experience didn't match your expectations. While we're glad you found the staff friendlyt, we understand that it's not what you were hoping for.

Warm regards,
The Hox Team x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.9 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Exterior
0.7 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
4.0 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.9 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.6 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.5 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
2.4 miles from The Hoxton, Amsterdam
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (3,099)
Filter reviews
3,099 results
Traveller rating
2,424
476
130
46
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,424
476
130
46
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews supermarket prices canal view cozy room cool vibe nine streets cool hotel perfect location each morning we loved our stay free breakfast amazing hotel dam square anne frank house rooms are small lottie hipster herengracht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 3,099 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Hoxton for 8 nights and it was wonderful! The staff is very kind and helpful, Juan especially went above and beyond and made my stay feel like I was at home. The location is central to everything and the bikes were a great amenity.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank eharrison11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gulnara Sagdieva, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

So happy you enjoyed your stay! Juan is a gem! Glad you felt at home with us. Hope to see you again soon for another amazing stay!

Cheers,
The Hox Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2024

The Hoxton Amsterdam has mastered hospitality. From the minute you step into the lobby, you feel like you are at the home of a friend with excellent taste and an appreciation for comfort and relaxation. The staff is phenomenally friendly and accommodating. We felt so welcome. The lobby lounge is cozy and quiet, even full of guests. The room was charming and spotless. The Hoxton is an old canal house in a quiet neighborhood a short walk from the train station and the Rijksmuseum.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navigate764516
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gulnara Sagdieva, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Hi there,

Thanks for sharing your Hox experience! Sounds like you had a blast. We're all about that welcoming vibe and making sure you feel right at home. Can't wait to host you again soon for more good times!

Best,
The Hox Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2024

We really enjoyed staying with you and appreciate everything that you did for us during our stay. Our favourite concierge guided us to take in unique Amsterdam experiences which we got to on the essential Hoxton bicycles. Biking in Amsterdam is an experience in itself, and not for everyone, but we managed the throngs of cyclists like Amsterdammers by the end. We took full advantage of the convenience of having Lotti’s, the hip and popular hotel restaurant, right downstairs. The best coffee in town. We look forward to staying with you again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gulnara Sagdieva, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Hi Ben,


Thanks for the awesome review! We're happy you had a blast staying with us. And we're glad you enjoyed Lotti's for some delicious coffee and vibes. Can't wait to host you again next time you're in town!

Best,
The Hox Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2024

Great hotel located in the center of the 9 streets. Loved staying here. Staff were extremely helpful. Hotel lobby is always full of energy. Great dining options nearby & a perfect spot to be start your walk through. Amsterdam.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gulnara Sagdieva, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2024

Hi Lawrence,

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us aand loved the Hox buzz! We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Cheers,
The Hox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

My daughter and I took a girls trip to Amsterdam. This was our first visit to the city. The Hoxton was the perfect place to stay for our visit. The location was fantastic. Our room was beautiful and spacious. We had a lovely view of the canal. The room amenities were very nice - we had everything we needed including milk in the mini fridge for tea. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate at Lotti's several times during our stay for breakfast and dinner. The food was delicious. We loved the atmosphere of the hotel - it was both very beautiful and cool at the same time. I definitely plan on staying here again when we visit next.

Room tip: Book a room with a view - it's worth it. If having dinner at the restaurant be sure to make a reservation
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenn_ottley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gulnara Sagdieva, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Hi Jenn,

So glad you and your daughter had a special stay in Amsterdam! Hosting your first trip at The Hox was a pleasure. We loved that you enjoyed your experience with us. Can't wait to welcome you back for more fun times!

Warm regards,
The Hox Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews